Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
alright...me and my gaming group is having a big discussion on gets hot ruling and rapid fire weapons
the problem is if you rapid fire within 12 inchs with two shots froma plasma gun and one of the shots gets hot, does the other shot still go off. and does the gets hot if it wounds you and kills your models does the other shot still go off?
the way ive been playing it and everyone agreed to play it was that if one of the shots gets hot and you pass your armor save then you can continue to wound with the second shot.
but i think its wrong but that is how everyone else thought it would work after intense amounts of me arguing with them...but im thinking the other shot goes off regardless of wether or not the first shot gets hot and/or wounds the shooter.
any arguments or info or clarification would be nice thank you
Shooting happens simultaneously; this includes in units and with your weapons. You get to fire both shots, regardless of the Gets Hot! rule, and then after your shots are taken you will make any saves if your weapon has overheated. That's why (at least, in the previous edition; I'm unsure of 5th edition but would assume it's the same) you overheat on a roll of a 1 or 2 when you Rapid Fire, instead of just on a 1 (like normal). You get both shots, but it's more likely to Get Hot!
so your saying the other shot will still have a chance to wound the unit he is being shot at?