Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Here's some questions that came up in a recent game.
Scenario is Tyranids vs Space Marines.
Turn 4, Tyranids have 3 10 man unit of gaunts in combat with a space marine Captain in Terminator armour. Let's call them unit A, B, and C.
They each have one model in base contact and the rest are surrounding the Termi.
This has been an ongoing combat since turn 3.
So the space marines send a tactical squad now that it's bottom of turn 4. To assault 1 of the units in the combat. However they take a difficult terrain test to assault said unit getting a 4 and barely reach 2 Gaunts in Tyranid unit C.
The gaunts from unit C all get wiped out by the marines and the Terminator Captain also gets killed by the Gaunts in unit A & B in return.
So now units A n B are not in base contact with any enemy models (they were only in contact with the captain) and the tactical squad wiped out unit C which it assaulted and which was previously engaged with the Captain.
So does everyone consolidate or does the tactical squad get to keep all the gaunts from units A and B stuck in combat through "Pile-In" moves even though it had no models in base with it and did not allocate any attacks or anything onto them as they were only engaged with the captain.
I know that because they attacked unit C which was engaged with same captain that units A & B were engaged with, that the whole thing becomes a multiple-combat for determining which side lost and taking no retreat saves and all that.
My second question is pretty straight forward.
Can you shoot THROUGH combat? Is there a rule that prevents shooting through combat in the way it did in 4th edition?
1. Tyranids - 15,000 pts
2. Chaos Space Marines - 7,100 pts
3. Space Marines - 6,000 pts
Yes you CAN shoot THROUGH combat, but NOT INTO combat.
Models in combat can still possibly grant a cover save to the unit being fired at as per normal cover rules.
Chaos - 11W 0L 0D
Orks - 8W 0L 0D
Tyranids - 8W 0L 0D
The models would still have to pile-in as they were part of the 'combat'. The only ways they would not be still engaged are:
1) The unit moves their 6" pile-in move and the defender also moves its 6" (if able) and none of the models from the unit are engaged base-to-base with the defender, due to being too far apart.
2) The unit moves their 6" pile-in move and the defender also moves its 6" (if able) and none of the models from the unit are engaged base-to-base with the defender, due to the defender being completely surrounded by another friendly unit and there being no physical way for the piling-in unit to get a model in base-to-base with any models from the defending unit.
Even though it is multiple combat, however, the tact squad was only engaged with 1 unit. Likewise, Gaunts A & B were only engaged with 1 unit as well. Since both of those units they were engaged with were wiped out, then they are no longer considered to be in cc. They just make their consolidate moves instead. There are no pile-in moves to be made. You have to be in base contact with multiple units in order to still be locked in combat with them.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2
I believe that all units involved in this combat are part of a multiple combat situation. If you look at the rules on page 41 of the BRB, they discuss multiple combats. The assault results section tells you to total up all of the hits from all of the units involved on both sides of the multiple combat to determine the winner. All of the units don't have to be directly engaged with all other units to form a multiple combat, only that they all form one connected chain somehow. The same section goes on to say that all units involved in a multiple combat must make pile-in moves towards other enemies that fought in the combat.