Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The rules state you may deploy 1 HQ and 2 troop choice units.
Does this mean, I may deploy my Shas'el + 2 x fire warriors in devilfish or just 1 x fire warriors in devilfish.
That is to say, does the devilfish count towards "units" even though it's a dedicated transport?
Pg. 93 under Dawn of War in the example section-- yes the dedicated transport is a separate unit even though it's out of the same FOC slot, and it counts as the second troops unit.
Everyone I know has always deployed 2, myself included. I don't think it's ever matter, 2 units of FW in Devilfish is a disadvantage to me either way. Just seems a little weird
I always this rule was so stupid but as I recall the trasport takes a slot. I feel like some1 botched this up somewhere though
A moment of weakness spawns a life tme of heresy...
A dedicated transport counts as the same unit type as the unit its attached two. For example if you play Imperial Guard and have a Company Command Squad with a dedicated Chimera, both units count as an HQ slot so in Dawn of War you can only start with one or the other on the field, not both. Conversely a Veteran Squad and attached Chimera both count as Troop choices and therefore you can start with one or both of them and the field.
At least I believe so, don't have the rulebook on hand.
HockeyMan's got it right, it's under the Dedicated Transport section, though I don't have the pg number handy.
The italicised paragraph under the picture for deployment in "Dawn of War", P.93 BRB, actually specifies that if a dedicated transport is deployed with its troops unit then that counts as 2 Troops being deployed.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"