Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ive asked this quest once before and I dont belive I got a straight answer...
The rulebook says the vehicle cannont shoot in its shooting phase due to popping smoke in the movement phase....
The question is "Where in the rulebook does it say that units inside cannot shoot?"
Interpritation is the farthest thing in mind for me...How would/did you handle it in friendly/tourny games....??
We've already come to the conclusion...that if you do attempt to shot from the tranny..it will be obscure since your vehicle just surround you in smoke....
I want to know whether or not the unit's shooting was even legal in the first.
RAW, the smoke is launched instead of the vehicle shooting. As you probably know, the models in the transport still counts as a separate unit from the vehicle. This means the embarked squad must be mentioned in addition to the vehicle if they are to be prevented from shooting due to smoke, and they are not.
The fluff side of things provides strong arguments for preventing the shooting (or including obscurement as you've done), but these conclusions are simply outside the scope of the standard rules... house rules only.
It is worth noting that this only means the squad can shoot if it would normally be able to do so. In other words, the vehicle cannot have been shaken/stunned, or moved faster than combat speed.
Last edited by Krovin-Rezh; December 2nd, 2009 at 07:15.
--•-My 40K projects-•--
Please stop referring to transports as trannies...
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
Where does it say the embarked unit cannot shoot, if the vehicle is stun/shaken? I was looking for this rule awhile back and could not find it.
p.67 under Effects of Damage Results on Passengers
In the 5th Ed. FAQ, it says that the passengers "are a separate unit (albeit they are
temporarily co-existing with the vehicle) and so can fire at a different target."
Thus, RAW-wise, there's nothing preventing the passengers from shooting out of the vehicle even though their vision is obscured. Not very logical, but then again, logic and rules never really mix.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2
I reached a the same conclusion a little bit differently (no surprise there) as the obscurement gained from Smoke is only from the point of view of the opponent.
The only impact that popping smoke has for its owner is that of a trade off for its normal shooting – the owner being the vehicle not the embarked troops.
Look at it this way, the vehicles ‘shot’ for that turn was a smoke launcher, so it never affects the passengers shooting in any way.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
Besides, if passengers were to be affected by the smoke, you could just resolve their shots before you resolve the smoke shot. That way, their vision is not obscured at the time that they are firing.
The third ed FAQ had this cleared up. If a transport fired smoke then embarked units could NOT fire.
You can argue that the old FAQ is not relevant, but it does give a ruling on something that is at best dubious.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.