Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
fire a combi-plasma and a cyclone missile launcher in the same turn? i can't find or am missing it, the rule. In the cyclone missile launcher entry however it says. ( for the SW codex )
A terminator can fire his cyclone missile launcher in addition to his storm bolter.
Am i right that you can only fire one weapon per turn? Unless otherwise?
The combi-lasma isn't also stated as a two handed weapon in the SW codex. It just says. replaces his storm bolter with combi-flamer, combi-melta, combi-plasma.
EDIT: not trying to bite off more than i can chew, i just want to know if i am doing something right and it's good to be sure that you know what's legal and what's illegal.
RAW-wise in the Space Wolf codex, it doesn't say that you can fire both the cyclone and a combi-weapon so no. RAI-wise I believe it should be a firm yes. Looks like another thing that GW's editing department missed, though hopefully it will be FAQ'd.
You should tell your opponent before the game, and if he agrees, then you get to fire both.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2
Yes, a model can usually only fire one weapon per turn unless specified otherwise (page 15 of the big rulebook). The cyclone can be used in addition to a storm bolter, but RAW does not allow to be shot along with a combi-weapon. So: no.
[RAI is not an option, because once you start down that path it never ends, because there is many things that are awkward and intentions can only be guessed at, so there will always be two sides to everything and you won't ever be able to make a ruling in consent with the opposition.
I am pretty sure Ravenwing landspeeders in Ravenwing attack squadrons are not meant to be scoring units in 5th edition, but who am I to judge? I am also asking myself whether sternguard are maybe intended to be able to use their special ammo with storm bolters, because -strangely- a storm bolter upgrade costs almost twice as much for them as for everyone else who has the option, while it benefits them -by far- the least, because they lose their special ammo. We can go about discussing intentions all day, but we have to find hard data to base our decisions on: rules as written.]
I'd never noticed that before, though I'd still point out what I always do to people when this comes up-- the special ammo replaces the regular weapons profile, and all the special ammos are rapid fire. That's why I personally wouldn't mind if someone wanted to use the special ammo with stormbolters, even though it's not technically RAW-- it's really not an advantage beyond having a normal storm bolter.I am also asking myself whether sternguard are maybe intended to be able to use their special ammo with storm bolters
Not to derail either, seeing as how the question was answered, but Red Archer.
Ravenwing makes them count as troop choice yes? Does it have anything else about them always being scoring (Doesn't have his codex on hand.) if no, then they can't score can they? Vehicles can never score, in the same way an orc deff dread (Or is it cans) can't if taken as a troop choice.
The rulebook says vehicles can never score [page 90 in the big rulebook]. The Dark Angels' codex says "[...] they always operate as completely independent scoring units of one model" [page 27 in Codex: Dark Angels], referring to both the attack bikes and landspeeders that can be purchased together with Ravenwing attack squadrons. Since codices overrule the rulebook Ravenwing landspeeders bought with Ravenwing attack squadrons are scoring.
This was just revealed to me on the forum a few days ago when I said that vehicles can never be scoring. The codex was written in fourth edition where every unit (bar independent characters and dedicated transports) were scoring, and RAI-wise they are very probably not intended to be scoring in fifth edition. But who are we to judge? We have to go by RAW.
I have to back RAW for the original question. Blatting away with a Storm Bolter is relatively easy compared with faffing around with a combi-plasma. Spend too long sighting in the missile launcher and you'll find the plasma gun is over-heating on you! Not a problem with the SB- you'll just need to reload.
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to