Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Since I plan on using Demolisher tanks, this might be a circumstance I'll run into frequently, and it would be nice to have a ruling on it before it happens.
Say I've got a tank, and it is totally surrounded by enemy infantry. I want to back it out six inches from the cluster and fire a shot into them. However, there is no space through which the tank can move without going through infantry. Do I have the option of moving the tank over/through the models with no effect, or am I forced to flat-out and tank shock if I want to move at all?
So you can either tank shock (and probably shoot at some other target, because you won't be able to turn at the end of your move), or stay put (and shoot at some other target or at the units surrounding your tank if you can place your demolisher blast marker legally).
I know this is about Demolishers but you can have a Skimmer Tank that can avoid this situation entirely, so there are exceptions.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
You have to announce the distance you want to move, but you are free to announce only a single inch. (Well, when arriving from reserves you should announce a distance far enough as to allow your entire model to enter the battlefield, but that's a special case.) So you needn't expose rear armor when tank shocking if you don't go too far...