Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hello, does anyone know if invulnerable saves affect force weapons? I am asking because I saw that invulnerable saves may be taken whenever the model suffers a wound, but instant death means that the model suffers multiple wounds.
Page 50, main rulebook for everyone but Daemonhunters. For Daemonhunters, page 17 of their codex, but it's the same for the purpose of your question - you go through combat normally until just before combat resolution, then if the model with the force weapon has inflicted a wound, you may use a psychic test to see if you Instant Death the model wounded. If you pass the test, he is instantly removed, not "takes more wounds". You still count however many wounds he had left towards combat resolution though.
"The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
"Innocentia Probat Nihil"
nope. invulnerable saves are saves that can be used that would ignore armour saves. apart from that they have no affect on any other power. so if any non-eternal warrior model was wounded by a force weapon it doesn't matter how many wounds they have they lose all of their wounds.
eternal warrior makes a model ignore instant death rules in any case.
Models suffer multiple wounds whenever they lose a wound! So first you must lose atleast one wound to a force weapon, THEN you loose multiple wounds ( which is all of them ).
hope that helps!
EDIT: Stradius got the first while i was tying!
damn too slow
(WH40K) Dark Eldar - (12,000pts) Sisters of Battle - (5000pts) Dark Angels -(3500pts) (WHFB) Dark Elves - (10,000pts) Beastmen - (5000pts) Empire - (3000pts) Wood Elves - (1500pts)
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
The force weapon has usually only inflicted the one wound. It was just that this wound instantly killed the model. As far as I know you don't write it down as two or three wounds inflicted; that would make power fists ridiculous against multi-wound models for the purposes of combat resolution.
So the force weapon scores a wound, the person gets his invulnerable save, and if he fails that save the wound is "inflicted" and he's likely to be asploded. The only reason you can't take armour saves on force weapons is because they are all also power weapons.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
Just for clarity's sake, since I'm not sure everyone is asking the same question. A Force Weapon is a power weapon that inflicts wounds as normal in CC-- and so you may take your invulnerable save against it. Once the FW has actually inflicted a wound and the psyker tests for Instant Death, you may not take an additional saves against it. You've already failed to save against the initial wound.
"...(including all of the Wounds lost by models that have suffered instant death)...". So yep, powerfists against multi-wound models are ridiculous - but fun!!
Yes, the model only suffered a single failed save, therefore lost a single wound, but the Force Weapon is able to nuke the other wounds which this model would *normally* be still left with, so it effectively removes all the wounds just as if the model had suffered sufficient "no armour save" wounds in order to kill it.
Last edited by eiglepulper; December 22nd, 2009 at 17:18.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"