Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've seen many rules about the drop pods but I can't seem to find this one. Before scattering the drop pod when it arives, can I select the location intentionally over an enemy unit then scatter and hope for a hit forcing the oponent to disperse some units. I know that I'm stuck with the units that can't disembark but is it legal? Could be usefull for empty pods. If yes, could be usefull for the new mawlocs coming with the nids dealing dammage to units when it hits them.
Also, once the drop pod lands the passengers must disembark and can never reembark. Were the vehicle wrecked and the unit unable to be disembarked they would clearly be destroyed (pg. 67), being as that isn't quite the case it's not as clear but it certainly seems reasonable. Does anyone know if it mentions in the BRB or an FAQ about models being unable to be placed being automatically destroyed?
Edit: As far as the Mawloc goes, I've wondered myself. I haven't read it's description but it's special rule might allow it to be purposely placed on enemy models.
Last edited by Archon Charybdis; January 11th, 2010 at 16:36.
pg 95. BRB Deep Strike 2nd paragraph.
You have to place the model in a legal position to begin with. Additionally, the Drop Pod rules never relocates enemy models, it just reduces the scatter of the drop pod.
Incorrect. You may "reduce scatter distance" by the minimum required distance in order to be able to place the drop pod (page 69, drop pod, intertial guidance system), but its initial deployment (before scatter) must be a legal landing location. You can not land on an enemy unit on purpose, in fact you can't land on an enemy unit with a drop pod at all.
On a side note: the Necron monolith forces units it scatters onto when deep-striking to move out of the way, maybe this is where the idea came from. But even there it is to be argued whether the monolith can be purposefully placed to land on an enemy unit, a discussion I have been part of previously.
Edit: Xpyre35 beat me to it.
ok thanks guys,. this is quite clear.
On a side note, they could of added that when sending a pod that they don't really look at exactly where the enemy is and could actually land on one or throw one on purpose right in them. For example empty pods with attacks weaps. Same for the mawloc, it only specifies once it has scattered not the starting point. Which could be in link with the pod where the beast doesn't know 100% where he digs out.
Last edited by xilton; January 11th, 2010 at 17:26.
Yea I agree. I will need to adjust my play though and tell my freinds.
Ok went through the rules and it doesn't say in the 2nd paragraph "legal position". It clearly states anywhere on the tabletop. The p11 rule I agree BUT, you are not placing the pod there, it is a virtual positioning or marker if you prefer to measure where the final position will be.
Dunno, I tend to agree to you guys and the guys here also. There is no rules that forbid it actually. No one does it cause it's suicide and stupid but with the nids and mawloc, that changes things.
"First place one model from the unit anywhere on the
table, in the position you would like the unit to arrive,
and roll the scatter dice."
You do not place a "marker", or count the model as a marker. You must put the pod on the table first. (Page 11 does apply.)
Last edited by psichotykwyrm; January 18th, 2010 at 09:22.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes