Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
An interesting point im querying about the mawloc. In theory, there is absolutly nothing to say that you can kill your own models with it.
The mawlocs rule itself says "If a mawloc Deep Strikes onto a point occupied by another model, do not roll on the mishap table and instead do the following." Then it says the blast template thing, with no mention of specifically targeting opposing models only.
And i cant find anything in the rulebook either. The Deep Strike rule says "... Place 1 model from the unit on the table, in the position you wouild like it to arrive..."
So i presume you could deliberatly put the mawloc over one of your own squads and attack it.
So is there a reason you couldn't do this? I cant think of why you'd want to, but its interesting to know.
Last edited by Heirodule; January 17th, 2010 at 10:39.
Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature
I'm not yet in possession of the new Codex: Tyranids, but I think you may have answered your question yourself:
So if im reading this right, there would be 2 potentail interpretations of this rule:
1. It cant be done because the mawloc would have to be psyically placed on the table first, although that does seem to ruin the point, as its base is only a fraction smaller than the large blast itself.
2. It could be done, the model isnt fully on the table till scatter is resovled. This does seem to support the mawlocs purpose, but isnt strictly how its done.
So really it comes down to can you aim for a deliberate misshap or not?
Im inclined to go with the second, purely because its useless otherwise. Also there isnt specifically anything specifically preventing you from landing on the models, other than that place model on the table bit.
Might be a good idea to create a new thread for the issue of the mawloc itself actually.
Last edited by Heirodule; January 17th, 2010 at 11:22.
Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature
Yes, you could attack your own models with it, deliberatly or not. Its like barrage or blast weapons.
You deepstrike, scatter, and then if you land on any model you don't roll for mishap but instead attack the units...
I hear and I forget, I see and I remember, I do and I understand
Success is the ability to go from failure to failure without losing your enthusiasm.
If you think that this
As I said it is the same for the Necron monolith: some players believe that you can deliberately place the monolith to deep-strike unto a unit, but I say the deep-striking rules from the rulebook outlaw this procedure, as they state the model has to be placed on the table at the position it attempts to deep-strike to - therefore no placing above other models, be they friend or foe. If you want to land on enemy or friendly units you will have to hope for scatter.
I can't find anywhere in the BGB that says that you can't deep strike your models on purpose into models or difficult terrain. If there is such a rule in the BGB please give me the quote.
If there is no such rule, that means that you can, on purpose, deep strike into models or difficult terrain.
I assume that it is just that people would not deep strike into models or difficult terrain because that would mean that they would have to roll on the deep strike mishap table.
Page 95, BRB: "First place one model from the unit anywhere on the table, in the position you would like the unit to arrive, and roll the scatter dice".
You have to place one model from the squad -or in case of a single model unit: you have to place the model- in the position you want it to arrive. Prior to scatter and any special rules being applied. And since "a model is considered to occupy the area of its base" [page 3, BRB] you can not "place" a model "on the table" where it won't fit. And since nothing permits you to move other models before "placing" your model "on the table" you can not deliberately attempt to deep-strike unto another unit.
"If a Mawloc deep strikes onto a point occupied by another model, do not roll on the deep strike mishap table but instead do the following. Place a Large Blast Template directly over the spot the Mawloc is emerging from. Every unit suffers... If any unit has any surviving models under the template, move that unit by the minimum distance necessary to clear all models beneath the template... After all casualties have been determined, replace the large blast template with the Mawloc"
This means that the Large blast template is put where the Mawloc will deep strike. Do casualties, move the rest of the troops out of the way (so that they are not under the large blast template) and put the Mawloc instead.