Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So my friend picked up the new nid codex and we have some debates on how certain things work agianst eachother
Take phsyic powers. How does runes of witnessing effect how i cast my power if there is a model with shadow of the warp around? Would it be the same way as witnessing vs warding? shadow of the warp does basically the same thing as runes of warding, just with a 12'' range.
Also, lash whip vs banshee mask? do i strike at I 1, 10, or regular?
Take a second look at Shadow in the Warp. It's no longer "3d6, take the highest"... It's just a flat out 3d6.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
Youd strike at I10 on the first round, then every other round after that would be I1. I don't have my codex in front of me, but I'm pretty sure banshee mask says "regardless of...other modifiers." or something like that.
Eldar W/D/L: 17/15/12
Ordo Malleus W/D/L: 24/3/4
Crimson Fists: In Progress
Necron Army Building Maxima: Beware of Phase Out
Barring a new FAQ, I could see doing Shadow vs RoW in two ways. 1) Just assume they cancel each other out, and roll a normal leadership test 2) Use the Eldar FAQ Runes of Witness vs. Runes of Warding method, roll 3d6 and take the lowest two for purposes of passing, and then look at all 3 for the purposes of determining Perils.
The Banshee entry says they strike at I10 and negate any bonuses from cover/grenades. The second half of the rule is irrelevant, as it doesn't affect the first part - it says they strike at Initiative 10 in the first round of an assault (and I assume when the eldar codex last came out grenades and/or cover made you strike at I10 too, so the mask negates that ensuring banshees strike first). I don't know the exact wording on Lash Whips, but if it just says "Models fighting the (insert whatever has the lash ships) in assault have initiative one, well... then they're contradictory and incompatible, and need to be faq'd. In the mean time, I'd say it's RAI to have them strike at I10 the first round, and I1 after that as Banshee masks are clearly intended to ensure Banshees strike first.
"The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
"Innocentia Probat Nihil"
If Runes gives you an extra dice and allows you discard one of them, and shadow uses an extra dice, doesnt it make sense to have a 4d6 test and discard one dice. Obviously thats not how its written in the rules but that makes most sense.
And @ stradius thats a fair insight, but it could just as easily be put the other way round, lash whips are clearly intended to let the weilder strike first, so as you say theyre totally incompatible.
Becasue this could just go round in circles for all time, im going to offer a slightly different solution, all models effected by lash whips go simultainiously with the whiper, whilst any banshees not in base to base go at I10. After the first round the whips kick in as normal. That seems fair enough.
Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature
I think that heirodule offers the best solution that will make both parties happy between me and my friend, so we will probably go with that until a faq or something comes out.
And for phsycic tests, we play as if he has runes of warding, not the old shadow of the warp rule.
Thanks for your help guys
Just looking at the 'current' Tyranid FAQ; I'm not sure why they would change that ruling for the new codex.
Q: How do the Eldar Runes of Witnessing work when facing a Hive Tyrant with Shadow in the Warp?
A: The Runes neutralize the effect of the Shadow in the Warp for that Farseer, so the Farseer will take psychic tests using 2D6, as normal.