Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
i know this is blatantly obvious(i think) but can i take an armour and invun save?? a few people i know wont let you take the invun if you fail the armour, because it states somewhere that you may only ever take 1 save,
you always take your armor save, unless you are hit by something that disallows armor saves (power weapons, a weapon with an ap value equal to or lower than your armor save, etc)
if you cant take your armor save, you instead use your invulnerable save, but you may only ever take one save, so if you fail your armor save you cannot then take your invulnerable.
it's not like a ward save in fantasy sadly
hopes this helps
Never judge someone until you've walked a mile in their shoes...by that time they'll be a mile away, and have no shoes
There are three different kinds of saves: armor saves (most common), cover saves (also very common, easy to get), and invulnerable saves (not so common). A model can have any combination of these three. But you may only ever take one of them, and you must always use the best among those that apply in the situation. (Certain situations won't allow you to take your cover save, even if that were your best, or your armor save, even if that were the best.) Consult page 24 of the big rulebook, "models with more than one save".
You can find the reference to this on page 24, "Models with More than One Save"
--•-My 40K projects-•--
but that is worded in a weird way as if to say you can take your armour, and then have to choose between cover and invun
"... the model only gets one saving throw, but has the advantage of always using the best available save." How is this ambigous or worded weirdly? It's quite clear
"The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
"Innocentia Probat Nihil"
Remember that the Feel No Pain USR works a bit differently to regular saves. Worth looking over once you understand how normal saving works
Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
I currently play:
Doom Eagle Space Marines
Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
Tau of O'me
Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters
and my attempted foray into fantasy
'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff
fnp isnt actually a save as you have to roll a 4, 5 or 6 instead of 4+ but i see where you have been coming from
it looks like im going to have to change the way I play...
Deltamarines (SM) W:10 D:1 L:3
Hunter Cadre Xeon'a (Tau) W:5 D:2 L:1
I have a question about the way armour Sv is played. Should an armour saves be taken BEFORE wounding roll (hear me out here) - IE, shots have to go through armour BEFORE doing any damage right?. eg. Marines get fired at, X number of shots hit, take armour Sv, any that fail save go on to toughness test, fail that and wound.
any applicable AP weapons understandably ignore the required armour SV and go right to toughness test. Again, realistic but maybie it unbalances the game (I havn't done the maths, but how would this affect the potential number of wounds/armour tests needed compared with how the rules affect the tests now?)
For the Kir'La Sept, For the Ta'Ro'Cha, For the Survival the Galaxy against the Great Devourer. - Shas'O 'Dark Fire' Skilled Tyranid Hunter.