Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My friend and I started a game and I really wanted to go second but he said I had to try and steal the initiativel (and I did). Is this true or can you choose not to roll the die?
Also, just to clarify, when exactly do you roll the dice (before or after scout, same with eldrads divination etc. etc.)?
You do not have to attempt to steal the initiative if you don't want to. "If he decides to do so, he rolls a dice", page 92 of the big rulebook, "seize the initiative!".
Seizing the initiative is done after scout moves, because it is done immediately at that moment when the first player would start his first turn. Same page reference, same spot.
For the 5th Edition Standard Deployment Types, you roll-off and can then choose to go first or second. If you lose and want to go second, the opponent can still choose to go second himself. Unfortunately, you can't attempt to steal the initiative if you're already going first.
--•-My 40K projects-•--