Now this seems like cheating... - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Age
    29
    Posts
    159
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Now this seems like cheating...

    So I was reading the transport section of the BRB, and noticed an anomaly. I dont know if I was looking for it, or if it just jumped out at me, or what, but i realized that it doesn't say anything about models from your army not being able to embark in transports of an opponent's army.

    Is this just an oversight? Just GW figuring no one would try this stunt? Did I just miss it? And if so, what page is it on?

    Because if it doesn't say I can't do this, I'm totally going to start. Hit on 6's THIS!

    Eldar W/D/L: 17/15/12
    Ordo Malleus W/D/L: 24/3/4
    Crimson Fists: In Progress

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Nhyx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Augusta, Georgia
    Age
    33
    Posts
    821
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    160 (x3)

    You missed the part where it says you can't move within 1 inch of an enemy model (transports are model) unless assaulting it.

    Chilling in the backseat of an enemy transport isn't part of the assault phase.
    Yes, I did deep-strike your sister...
    Necrons : W-8 D-3 L-7 (Sleeping in their TombFoam, waiting for a new codex)
    Chaos Forces (CSM/CD): W-42 D-19 L-28
    Apocalypse Games : W-4 D-0 L-1 (4 Titans, Brass Scorp, 3 Baneblades, 2 Bombers, 3 Fighters, and a Partrage in a Pear Tree)

  4. #3
    Adeptus Laziness Pixie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    614
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    163 (x3)

    The big rule book has plenty of such omissions. For example, it doesn't say that it is illegal to start riverdancing on the gametable. Neither does it say anything regarding using live mice as a base for your models.

    Just so you know, doing both in the same game usually results in your entire force running off the table even before turn one...

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Age
    29
    Posts
    159
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Nhyx View Post
    You missed the part where it says you can't move within 1 inch of an enemy model (transports are model) unless assaulting it.

    Chilling in the backseat of an enemy transport isn't part of the assault phase.
    In all technicalities, I could be within embarking distance AND outside of 1 inch.

    It does say if a tank didn't move and you were still in contact with it during the assault phase, you could attack it again. I believe that may be the exception to the rule. I actually killed a unit and 2 Rhinos in one round of CC this way.

    @ Pixie: That made me laugh, and I'd totally do it if i knew how to riverdance.
    Eldar W/D/L: 17/15/12
    Ordo Malleus W/D/L: 24/3/4
    Crimson Fists: In Progress

  6. #5
    Senior Member Nhyx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Augusta, Georgia
    Age
    33
    Posts
    821
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    160 (x3)

    And by embarking, you'd be IN the model
    That's alot closer than 1 inch
    Yes, I did deep-strike your sister...
    Necrons : W-8 D-3 L-7 (Sleeping in their TombFoam, waiting for a new codex)
    Chaos Forces (CSM/CD): W-42 D-19 L-28
    Apocalypse Games : W-4 D-0 L-1 (4 Titans, Brass Scorp, 3 Baneblades, 2 Bombers, 3 Fighters, and a Partrage in a Pear Tree)

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Age
    29
    Posts
    159
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    ah, touche. I guess i should've listened to myself and not applied logic to WH40k. You know, the part about getting into a transport and killing the crew instead of whalig on the outside of it. Seemed like a good idea at the time...
    Eldar W/D/L: 17/15/12
    Ordo Malleus W/D/L: 24/3/4
    Crimson Fists: In Progress

  8. #7
    Senior Member Nhyx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Augusta, Georgia
    Age
    33
    Posts
    821
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    160 (x3)

    You'd still have to break your way in.
    Yes, I did deep-strike your sister...
    Necrons : W-8 D-3 L-7 (Sleeping in their TombFoam, waiting for a new codex)
    Chaos Forces (CSM/CD): W-42 D-19 L-28
    Apocalypse Games : W-4 D-0 L-1 (4 Titans, Brass Scorp, 3 Baneblades, 2 Bombers, 3 Fighters, and a Partrage in a Pear Tree)

  9. #8
    Senior Member Stradius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lost in the Grimdark
    Posts
    961
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    124 (x3)

    To add to that, I'd say "Damage Result - Vehicle Wrecked" in close combat is the aforementioned slaughtering the crew.
    "The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
    "Innocentia Probat Nihil"

  10. #9
    The Future realitycheque's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bedford, UK
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4,848
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    403 (x8)

    As a general rule of thumb - and this goes beyond 40k - if it seems like cheating, it probably is.
    My Deathwatch Campaign
    Furious Angels: (SM) W22, D1, L9 (BA) W15, D0, L3 | Sentinels of Saphery (HE) W3, D0, L0

  11. #10
    Member Errors's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    US
    Posts
    167
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by realitycheque View Post
    As a general rule of thumb - and this goes beyond 40k - if it seems like cheating, it probably is.
    I don't know, are river dancing models considered cheating? LOL!

    (Yes, I realized I didn't contribute anything worthwhile to the topic but I couldn't pass up a good laugh from Pixie's comment.)
    Tyranid and Eldar player....don't ask me how I ended up playing these two armies, just smile, nod, slowly move away and don't make eye contact!


Closed Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts