Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've got a question about tomb spyders in assault. As you all know, tomb spyders can choose to crap out a scarab during their assault phase. According to the Necron codex, this scarab then "forms a unit" with the tomb spyder, even though the spyder is a monstrous creature.
So if you had a squad of 1 tomb spyder and 1 scarab in assault, is the enemy allowed to allocate his attacks between the two models as if the spyder was an independent character (because it's monstrous), or does he treat it like a typical squad?
If it's treated like a typical squad, then that would mean the enemy would be forced to roll to wound against an average toughness of 6 (3 for scarab and 6 for tomb spyder, but since there are an equal amount of models with each toughness value, you take the highest). And then if only 1 wound is inflicted, I'd be able to allocate that wound to the scarab. So essentially, the enemies would have been rolling against 6 toughness even though they ended up wounding a 3 toughness model.
Is that correct?
The tomb spyder is not an independent character and thus can't be targeted seperately. The scarab base and tomb spyder form a unit, majority toughness is used (counting models, not wounds), and you as the owning player get to allocate the attacks. So with a tomb spyder and one scarab base the attacker wounds against T6, even if you allocate the wound to the scarab base. This is a very nasty combo and is being made use of regularly since fifth edition.
The scarab base can also get a cover save very easily which the tomb spyder as a monstrous creature can not so easily do, but majority rules kick in here too, granting the entire unit a cover save (though only wounds allocated to the scarab base can benefit from the scarabs improved cover save).
That's amazing. Thanks Red Archer!
Just remember that while attacks in CC would be wounding against a majority T6, the scarabs' original toughness is used to determine if an unsaved wound causes it Instant Death.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes