Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If a Walker (Dreadnaught in this case) is immobilized, which Armour value is used to calculate Weapon Penetration Values by an Assaulting unit(s)? I probably couldn't see it for looking at it, but I couldn't find a definitive rule on this.
You still fight the front armor. Its a good thing to note, that grenades will hit based on comparative WS against an immobilized Walker.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
Since there is no rules regarding what AV ou hit in Close combat on an immobilized dreadnaught, you have to revert to the regular rules, which state that a dreadnaught is assumed to be always hit on its front AV for the purposes of CC. Immobilized walkers are in fact hit on a WS comparison basis instead of always on 6's with grenades though, so there is some consolation.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
So other Armour Values are for shooting only?
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
Since I play Chaos Daemons, my favourite tactic (although I'm just new at this) is to get the Masque to hit the walker with her Eternal dance and dance the walker facing away from my shooters. Hey, hitting the back armour is better than the front! But, I still don't see how a Walker's rear armour isn't used when it is immobilized. If it can't move about, it can't constantly change facing to get that front armour all the time. Maybe GWS will change it in the future. I was hoping it was in the new Errata that just came out, but it's not.
It may be immobilized, but it can still strike out with it's close combat weapons and perhaps fire it's guns (though of course this is thematic, not realistic for the game itself, just trying to figure out why) so the threat is far from removed. It's difficult to get behind a 10 foot tall mountain of steel that's flailing its metallic claws at you and firing a flamer all up in your face.
+++XENOS SPOTTED+++ thrilling battles within the Vitorina subsector: http://xenosspotted.blogspot.com/
Also, it's legs may be immobilized, but it's torso can probably still spin around to face you, again with those nasty claws ready to crush you like a tin can.
"The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
"Innocentia Probat Nihil"
Where does it say in the rules that Walkers cannot pivot in place when immobilized? I thought that the fact that they CAN pivot in place made assaulting targets hit their front armour values always?