Counting as 2 Troops? Combat Squads - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member Ignis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Age
    32
    Posts
    275
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    33 (x1)

    Counting as 2 Troops? Combat Squads

    I struggled over an entry in the SM Codex that I'm uncertain, and would really appreciate you help.

    It is mentioned that for example Tactical Squads (Units) can be split up in 2 Combat Squads.
    Would it in that case be allowed to only take say 10 Marines, and decide to split them in 2x5 to fulfill the Troop minimum (together with on HQ of course) requirement or is that only for later on when it comes down to Kill-points and such?

    It states "each combat squad is treated as a separate unit for all game purposes from that point".

    Thanks in advance...

    + We are changer, we are danger // Fallen angels, yet stranger +
    + WIP CSM & DH Exorcists in the making +

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    It also says on P.51 Codex SM that the splitting into Combat Squads is done when the unit is deployed. So you do not get to have them count as the two required Troops Choices because these are chosen *before* the game starts.

    The sequence is:
    1. Select HQ and 2 Troops choices
    2. Select rest of army
    3. After Mission/Deployment/etc is all decided, you state that "X" unit will be using the Combat Squad rule when you deploy them on the table.

    E.
    Last edited by eiglepulper; March 2nd, 2010 at 17:22.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

  4. #3
    Senior Member Ignis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Age
    32
    Posts
    275
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    33 (x1)

    Thanks for clarifying it,
    it thought it would be dealt that way but wasn't a 100% certain..
    + We are changer, we are danger // Fallen angels, yet stranger +
    + WIP CSM & DH Exorcists in the making +

  5. #4
    Senior Member Duo_Sonata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    325
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    30 (x1)

    When building up your force organization points Combat squads does not count towards the minimum troop requirement So you will still have to field two separate troop entries since the Combat Squad rule takes place during deployment. Combat Squads is meant to add versatility to your force for missions where you would like more scoring units to capture objectives.
    Warhammer 40k: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard, Grey Knights, Space Lizards (wolves), Kroot, Witch Hunters, Dark Eldar
    Warhammer: Lizardmen, Empire, Vampire Counts, Brettonians, High Elves, Skaven

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts