Charging into ongoing combat question. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x1)

    Charging into ongoing combat question.

    Hi, i was just wanting a clarification on this.

    If my squad is in combat with another, and then the enemy charges another squad into the combat in the next assault phase, can i strike at either squad? Or just the one i was already engaged in.

    Thanks


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Stradius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lost in the Grimdark
    Posts
    961
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    124 (x3)

    Page 41, multiple combats. "Models that were engaged with just one unit at the beginning of combat must attack that unit". I read that as meaning that for the first assault turn, they must attack the unit they were already engaged with. Next turn's assault phase, they can attack either.
    "The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
    "Innocentia Probat Nihil"

  4. #3
    Member RangerRob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    20 (x1)

    This is a very commonly made mistake to think that you cannot attack units that just assaulted you on the current turn if you were already engaged by another unit at the start of the turn. The 'combat' they are referring to is step 3 (Resolve combats) of the Assault Phase. (p 33). GW did finally make the wording a bit clearer with their latest FAQ as well...

    "Page 41 – Multiple Combats, Attacking. In all three bullet points, the word ‘combat’ will be changed to ‘round of combat’."

    So an already engaged unit may direct attacks to a unit that just assaulted it on that turn.

  5. #4
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Also in that FAQ:

    If a model is engaged with multiple enemy units, but in base contact with only one, it must allocate its attacks to that enemy. (paraphrased)
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  6. #5
    Firefly Skarsgard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Outer Rim
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,209
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    399 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by psichotykwyrm View Post
    Also in that FAQ:

    If a model is engaged with multiple enemy units, but in base contact with only one, it must allocate its attacks to that enemy. (paraphrased)

    Quoted for emphasis.

    Page 41 has caused a lot of grief in the understanding of who can attack whom, the FAQ thankfully clears it up now.
    Mirage Arcana Podcast
    The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts