Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I am a new 40K gamer and am confused by how Characters perform in assaults.I was playing a game with a SM Captain who had joined a Tactical Squad, they assaulted an enemy unit and my Captain ended up in base contact with 2 models inflicting a total of 4 wounds, but as both enemies were single wound models there were 2 "surplus". My opponent said that the woulds were lost even though there were other un-wounded enemies from the same squad within 2 inches. However he did agree that he could not strike back at the Captain specifically as there were no longer an models in base contact with my Captain.Was this correct as it seemed to blunt the ability of my Character - I've read the rule book again but am still unlear?
This is all kinds of wrong.
1. The IC is still fighting the entire enemy squad, all his wounds go against the entire thing. The other player can still choose which models take the wounds; they do not have to be allocated to the models that are allowed to fight the IC.
2. The models in base contact with your IC must fight him unless they are basing your squad as well, then they may choose. Models within 2" of those guys may allocate their attacks to the IC if they are not basing your squad. (Remember, engagement is determined at the beginning of combat. Even if the ones basing die, the ones contributing through them may still attack.)
3. Remember, ICs can be picked out by enemies. ICs do not pick out enemies within a squad.
Basically, you and your friend need to go back and read both the Assault section and the Section on ICs in combat.
By the way, welcome to LO!
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes