Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In my last game, my space marine playing friend tried to claim 2 extra attacks for having 2 powerfists. despite reading the section of the rules over and over we could not agree on this.
i thought you lost the bonus for 2 weapons when using a fist, but regained it when having 2.
my friend thinks you regain this attack, but then in the rules it says you get a bonus attack.
can anyone solve this argument for me?
You were/are correct.
If you have two single-handed close combat weapons there are four possible scenarios, all covered by the rules [page 41 of the big rulebook]. In some of these cases (in most) you gain a bonus attack. But since you can only ever fall into one of these four categories (in our case the second one: two special close combat weapons of the same type) you can only ever get one bonus attack.
He says he regains one attack and is granted another. There is no regaining, because he never lost one. If he had only one power fist, he wouldn't get a bonus attack in the first place. With two, he does. But there is nothing to lose or regain. There is no general rule of getting an additional attack for an additional close combat weapon - only the four scenarios mentioned above, and you can only fall into one of them. You get an additional attack on the charge though...