Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Yeah, so I'll ask what's likely been mauled over time and time again. But I really would like an answer....
Does Snikrot take up one of the 15 potential slots for a Mob of Kommandos?There's the question that the points cost doesn't have a ' + ' in front and all that jazz. And there's likely a debate between the difference in 'replace' and ' instead'.Instead of a Nob, one mob may be led by:
- Boss Snikrot (see page #) ..... 85 points
Just curious what most people will deal with.
Edit: it would seem since there is no ' + ' that you don't have to pay for a Kommando first, thus not taking up one of the 15.
Last edited by p13th0r4; April 7th, 2010 at 04:43.
I would say that it is replacing the nob for simplicities sake.
I think from a RAI point of view snikrot simply replaces the nob. From a RAW view it is somewhat ambiguous.
I think it is probably just easier to not argue with your opponent over one ork and use the squad as 15 including snikrot. If you tried using the 15 + snikrot at a tournament you're probably going to have some arguments with people and the game isn't about that it's about having fun.
If you wanted to be really annoying with the interpretation of this you could say that you could use snikrot as well as the nob. The line says that the mob may be 'led' by snikrot instead of the nob. Does this mean that the nob can be there but following orders from snikrot? I don't think there's any definition in 40k for 'leading' a squad. If you read it this way you may as well make snikrot the 16th ork in the squad.
My blog - http://wingsofsanguinius.blogspot.com
Been here nearly 10 years and still haven't managed 500 posts.
I def agree with the making your opponent happy and calm. I assumed the "lead by" referred to the mob using Snikrot's Ld. But then there is the Mob rule. I'll need to look and see how the other semi-IC options are handled. Badruk, and Zagstruk.
I'm not so sure what is confusing. You may take a Unit of 15 Kommandos. One of which can be Upgraded to a Nob, which would be 14 kommandos and 1 nob.
Instead of a Nob, one mob may be lead by Snikrot. for XX pts.
Replace Snikrot for Nob, for 1 unit of Kommandos.
Therefore: You may take a unit of 15 Kommandos, One of which can be upgrade to a (Snikrot).
This is identical to the Space Marines Scouts Sgt and Upgrading Telion. No you cannot have a Sgt, and Telion in the same squad.
Without a Unit of Kommandos, you are unable to purchase Snikrot.
Last edited by Xpyre35; April 7th, 2010 at 19:58.
Im not seeing the upgrade to. Upgrade would imply you pay for a boy and then add snikrot points ( Kommando + Snikrot). But it's saying instead of a nob not a boy. Are meaning that 14 boys and Snikrot? Being a total of 15 members?
Take the rules for the Nob upgrade and the Snikrot upgrade and read them together. "One Kommando may be upgraded to Nob," and then "Instead of a Nob, one mob may be led by: Boss Snikrot". To me that implies you pay the cost listed for Snikrot (and only that cost, not the cost to upgrade to upgrade to a Nob) and take Snikrot in place of a normal Kommando.
Sounds great, that's how I read it too. Since regardless, Snikrot is a Kommando. Thanks