Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was reading the summary of Ork Weapons on page 106 of the small rulebook that comes with AOBR boxset. There is a double asterisks next to the Zzap gun, which says does not roll to hit, see ork codex for details or something along those lines...
Having checked the Ork Codex there is nothing on page 51, which has the info for the Zzap gun, either confirming or denying this. I went to my local GW store to check with the guys there, one of them said that the Zzap gun is indeed auto-hit, and showed me the same double asterisks in the big rule book (sorry don't know the page number) with the same note (as per italics above). However in the FAQ there is this Q&A;
Q. Is the roll for a Zzap Gun’s Strength made
before or after the target unit is chosen?
A. The roll is made after choosing a target unit,
but before rolling to hit.
which whilst not directly answering the question of 'Does a Zzap Gun Need to Roll to Hit', but does seem to indicate a Zzap does need to roll to hit.
So what is the ruling here. I am an Ork player and would love for this to be true, but as there is no mention in the codex that I could find, and the Q&A seems to contradict the rule books and my local GW 'expert', I am turning to the online community for advice.
I think i have done everything i could possibly do to answer this myself and if there is anywhere else i need to go then please let me know.
That is a really good question, I would add that the GW FAQ can be misleading. For example: it says that the only characteristic that can go above 10 is vehicle armour. But Attacks can too. So I'm not sure if someone simply fubared the FAQ by intending to answer one question and bringing another question to replace it.
Thanks p13th0r4 - At least now i know i'm not the only one confused by this..
C'mon LO - I thought if i could find an answer anywhere it would be here!!! Please this is a serious question that is bothering me, and that i can see many disputes being created around...
If anyone has any insight on this, or what i can do to clarify please let me know!
The profile of the weapon, only indicates that it is Heavy 1. I see nothing in the entry that negates the Roll to Hit. There is just a roll to determine its strength.
However the ** is in the BRB Summary also. But not found in the Army list area in the Ork codex. I'd still assume a roll to hit. I'm guessing the Zzap Gun used to be auto-hit in an old codex, but it doesn't appear so now.
I looked it up and the zzap gun was an auto hit in a previous codex. It is confusing, though GW is known for that.
Awesome... well I guess I'll just assume that since there is nothing in the new codex indicating otherwise the Zzap rolls to hit as usual.