Pinning question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member qajorgenson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Age
    38
    Posts
    225
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Pinning question

    On page 31 of BRB it says"As long as the tests are passed, a unit may be called upon to take multiple Pinning tests in a single turn"

    Does this mean that you take a pinning test for each unsaved wound from a pinning weapon, or just one test for each unit that caused a pinning wound, regardless of how many wounds any one particular unit caused?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    BANANA! Hive Fleet Ruina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,161
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    183 (x4)

    You've answer the question yourself. Page 31 of the BRB says "As long as the tests are passed, a unit may be called upon to take multiple Pinning tests in a single turn"

    Which means that the unit takes a tests for a Pinning test for a wound, if passed they take a pinning test for the next wound and so on untill all the wounds have been passed or the unit "fails the test, it is immediatly fored to go to ground". I can't find it in the book, but when a unit has failed a pinning test it is immediatly excused from taking all other pinning tests, as it has already failed and gone to ground.

    I hope that helps.
    Quote of the Week (Number 3) - "It is impossible to defeat an ignorant man in argument." - William Gibbs McAdoo (1863-1941)
    Ruina's Hive - My personal Blog

  4. #3
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    This one has been done to death! The rule is that no matter how many pinning weapons from a single enemy unit cause wounds, you only take one pinning test for each enemy unit which causes a wound on *your* unit with a pinning weapon(s). A test is not made for every single wound caused by a pinning weapon from a single enemy unit. The wording on P.31 BRB says

    ..suffers any unsaved wounds (plural) from a pinning weapon, it must immediately take a Pinning Test (singular)
    It does not say "per wound" after 'Pinning Test'.

    However, if more than one enemy unit has a pinning weapon and your own unit suffers a wound from these weapons from different squads, then yes, you may be required to take more than one test.

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

  5. #4
    Ender of Threads Wraith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    256 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by eiglepulper View Post
    However, if more than one enemy unit has a pinning weapon and your own unit suffers a wound from these weapons from different squads, then yes, you may be required to take more than one test.

    E.
    Indeed. So taking 3 wounds from one unit of snipers causes just one test. Taking one wound (each) from 3 units of snipers causes 3 tests. Simple, really.
    We've got plenty of youth... How about a fountain of smart?


  6. #5
    Member qajorgenson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Age
    38
    Posts
    225
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Ok, thanks guys, that's what I thought, but just wanted to be sure.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts