Melta bombs and monoliths - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member qajorgenson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Age
    38
    Posts
    225
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Melta bombs and monoliths

    Do Melta Bombs still hit monoliths at 8+2d6 armor pen? I asked in the Necron section and the responder said it was a bit of a grey area as the Melta Bomb's 2d6 is it's base pen roll not a bonus like a Melta weapon gets for being at half range. If there is a FAQ please link. If not what's the consensus out there?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    jy2
    jy2 is offline
    Hive Fleet Pandora jy2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    5,068
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    797 (x8)

    No. While it does not explicitly say so, it is obvious that the Intent of 2D6 pen of a meltabomb is because it is a melta weapon. You get D6 pen due to it being a grenade and another D6 pen due to it being melta. Anyone playing it otherwise is rules lawyering and playing against the spirit of the game (though that happens more often than not).
    Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
    Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
    Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2

  4. #3
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    Weapons which get additional Armour Penetration dice, like chainfists, Monstrous Creatures and melta weapons (including -bombs, -guns and multi-meltas), do not do so against the Monolith.

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

  5. #4
    Senior Member Archon Charybdis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    108 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by eiglepulper View Post
    Weapons which get additional Armour Penetration dice, like chainfists, Monstrous Creatures and melta weapons (including -bombs, -guns and multi-meltas), do not do so against the Monolith.

    E.
    The whole point though, is that in the case of a melta bomb there is no additional d6, its base armor penetration value is 2d6 + 8. I agree with jy2 though, I think the intent would be that it only gets 1d6 however.

  6. #5
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    Yeah, it isn't exactly precise, is it! However, it can be argued that a chainfist also gets Str+2D6 as its base stat for armour penetration, and it is not permitted that extra penetration dice. It's a pity that GW didn't decide to continue their explanations/FAQ from previous editions which qualified everything fairly nicely.

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts