Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
When Defkopters use their Hit and run ability to leave combat, are they classed as fleeing, i.e they need to rally next turn or keep fleeing - or is it just a move to get them out of combat then they act as normal next turn.
this cropped up in an apocolipse battle and was very relevent as a large unit of copters fleed the board as our opponants said they had to rally to function again.
our argument was that in the rules it doesnt say you need a rally test to function again, thier argument was that the rules say that the copters "break" from combat implying that they would need to rally.
in the friendly way we play, we of course roled a dice to decide and out choppers legged it lol
what does everyone else play ?
I don't have my rule book handy, but I'm pretty sure that the hit and run rule allows you to move 3d6 inches in any direction, which would be contrary to fleeing IMO.
The guys who argued that a regrouping test was required due to the use of the word "break" in the USR perhaps missed the phrases "may choose to leave close combat" and "No sweeping advances are made" and "moves up to....in any direction" which are also included in the same USR.
The first shows H&R to be a decision made by the owning player, the second implies that the unit has not been defeated in CC and is therefore not falling back due to the failed Morale check, and the third proves that it is not a Fall Back move since the move can be made in the direction of the owning player's choice, which is not possible with a Fall Back move. In addition, a Fall back move requires you to move the full amount shown on the 2D6, as evidenced on P.45 BRB in the diagram, whereas the H&R roll says that the unit "moves up to.....".
Also, the only test required for a successful H&R is an Initiative test, not a Leadership one. Initiative tests do not affect Morale, therefore this cannot possibly be a Fall Back move.
Last edited by eiglepulper; April 12th, 2010 at 22:35.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
thanks for that, makes total sense.
can koptas use the hit & run when assaulting a vehicle? they are not really locked in combat....
They don't need to, any unit can always disengage a vehicle.
You guys got shafted. Hit and Run is not a fall back move.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
I think you're misunderstanding my question. I know units can auto disengage but can deffkoptas use hit and run against vehicles since they are not locked in combat?
Hit and run rules mention if a unit is locked in combat.
Last edited by p13th0r4; April 16th, 2010 at 11:37.