Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've read the Tyranid Codex pg 47. My question is concerning the target unit, and its cover status.
If there is less than a majority (ie 1 model) of the unit inside or touching cover that is between the Guard and the target, does the target unit benefit from cover?
I'm assuming yes. As the target unit is meeting the condition. Is this correct?
I was of the understanding (and I certainly stand to be corrected if I'm wrong here) that the nature of their weapons ignore cover saves. Since they can fire without LOS to the target, even through cover, I would have presumed they don't allow a cover save.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
There's only a 4 line italicized rule in the codex that I've found. 1st regards line of sight.
Then:Finally, something regarding vehicles.The target can only count the benefits of cover they are in or touching if it lies between them and the Hive Guard.
In the diagram the target unit "M" has 1 model in the "T" trees area terrain. That terrain lies between the "G" Guard unit and the target Unit. This seems clear now. M group would be granted a cover save.
My question would be more regarding if the "G" unit was to the East of the Trees and the target unit. In that situation, I would assume the regular cover save rules would apply to determine given non-special rule units (Hive Guard) if they were in cover in the first place, in order to determine "lies between them and the Hive Guard" Couldn't we use the majority of the target unit is in cover rules pg 22; BRB?
Am I make this too confusing? I'm just curious, as I'm sure (being the one bringing a new Tyranid Army to our group) its going to come up. (Our group is small so far no one has bugs yet.)
Last edited by Xpyre35; April 13th, 2010 at 23:34.
The rules for the Impaler Cannon says that they can get cover if in area terrain or touching cover. I'm afraid though that this needs further clarification in the form of a FAQ.
I would say no. In this case, obscurement doesn't count as the HG's don't need LOS so it would actually have to be 50% of the unit touching cover or in area terrain. Thus if you have 10 guardsmen, 5 of them would actually have to be up against a wall (touching it) or in area terrain for the unit to get cover.
In your diagram, M would only get cover if 5 of them are in the terrain or 1 is in terrain and 4 is touching the edge of the terrain (though not in it). That's how I would play it.
Last edited by jy2; April 14th, 2010 at 02:57.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2