Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a simple question that has probably been covered many times before, but I cannot find a reliable answer.
The question being does the C'tan necrodermis disarm warscythe weilding necrons, or other C'tan. My original thoughts are no, as if the warscythe was classified as a C'tan phase sword/knife it would clearly indicate it in its specific profile ie "The warscythe is treated as a phase sword/knife". It does make reference to it being crafted with phase blades, but there is no specific mention of the warscythe in the necrodermis profile.
Any feedback would be much appreciated thank you.
I would work it as yes, the Warscythe would be absorbed. The specification is that C'tan phase swords or knives are absorbed; each of those have blades. A warscythe has a phase blade, so I think it would be treated in the same way.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
I would be inclined to say no since the rules for Necrodermis specifically say C'tan phase sword or knife will be absorbed, these are actual items unique to Callidus Assassins and Cypher that were a part of a C'tan at one point in time hence why they are absorbed. A warscythe is not a C'tan Phase sword or knife and neither is it's name mentioned as one of the items in the necrodermis's description. But from a fluff point of view one could argue it. Surprised that as long as the necron codex has been around this is the first I've seen someone ask that question.
Warhammer 40k: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard, Grey Knights, Space Lizards (wolves), Kroot, Witch Hunters, Dark Eldar
Warhammer: Lizardmen, Empire, Vampire Counts, Brettonians, High Elves, Skaven
They are not absorbed, if they were they would be the most common C'Tan phase weapon and even in the codex with the C'Tan and would have surely been mentioned by the games developers who wrote the book.
The Emperor Protects
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
I think its pretty clear, it says c'tan phase swords and knives, it mentions nothing of warsycthes. The fluff behind warscythes is somewhat similar but keep in mind that has no effect on gameplay. As far as disarming other c'tan, this would also be a no go, as for one the Deceiver has nothing to disarm and the Nightbringers "weapon" is again not a c'tan phase sword or knife...not to mention two c'tan going back and forth disarming eachother would be kind of weird, and also pointless as no c'tan has a weapon that actually effects its attacks.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion