Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Unless otherwise stated, do psychic shooting attacks :
a) Use the normal shooting rules
b) Hit automatically / never scatter
The example power will be 'smite' - since it has no additional text regarding to hit or special exceptions.Originally Posted by Blood Angels Codex
You roll to hit using your psyker's BS as normal, unless otherwise stated. With the above example you would be able to assault afterwards, however with one like 'Vortex of Doom' which is a heavy 1, you would not.
As it reads like a weapon then you treat it exactly as a weapon, unless there is any text that says otherwise. Which in this case there is not.
Hope this helps.
Why don't you ask the question you really want the answer to? Namely, does Eldritch Storm scatter?
The fact that several Blood Angels psychic shooting attacks other than Smite include "hit automatically" in their description leads me to believe that the general rule is that they must roll to hit.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
This topic has been around and debated for a while and every time the answer is the same. "unless other wise stated you role to hit as a shooting attack".
"Should take you a while though because of your sloth like pace"
Click here and watch Gedderz try and cross the road
though some spells deny this rule even if they ARE an attack.
one very clear example is the ever so scary gift of chaos.
this spell is not used during the shooting phase, nor is it stated as a psychic shooting attack, nor is it a wounding one either!
but to be on topic..
unless stated. a psychic shooting attack is treated exactly like a normal one.
Eldritch Storm usedto not scatter because in 4th Edition rules, scattering didn't exist. In 5th edition, scatter existsfor blasts unless specifically noted otherwise. In which case, nothing says Eldritch Storm doesn't scatter.
Yes, it has been nerfed a bit. That's new editions for you. Just be glad it was yet another obsolete spell/wargear.
If those two words weren't there I don't think there would be solid grounds for an argument on scatter regardless of the power using a blast marker to determine area of effect.
I only play Eldar in 5th edition (and haven't played much since 2nd edition).
Since I think the rules for scatter are a bit silly (why is a warhead suddenly less accurate just because it will explode?).
btw, I do scatter with Eldritch storm just to avoid the rules arguments. However I don't roll to hit with Mind War, though I can see the argument for doing so (after all if you get a cover save then it seems like the power is actually shooting out).
But all in all, most psykers will hit on a 2+ anyway!