Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Page 67 of the rulebook at the disembarking section
A unit that begins its Movement phase abroad a vehicle can disembark either before or after the vehicle has moved. When the unit disembarks, each model is deployed within 2" of one of the vehicles access points, and within unit coherency. Models cannot disembark within 1" of an enemy. If an model cannot disembark because of enemies or because they would end up in impassablew terrain, the unit can perform an "emergency disembarkation" - the models are deployed anywhere within 2" of the vehicle's hull, but the unit can't do anything else for the rest of the turn. If this disembarkation is impossible, they can't disembark.
Q1. When can be this emergency disembarkation be done?
Q2. If a transport has its access points being blocked off during assault and the transport becomes a wreck, can emergency disembarkation be done?
thread (Disembarking after transport is wrecked)a few pages back.
1. You pretty much answered your question where I bolded the text.
2. Yes. You perform the emergency disembarkation as soon as the conditions happen. (i.e. vehicle is wrecked and you must disembark)