Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The space wolves psychic shooting power, Jaws of the world wolf, makes any model hit take an initiative test which if failed results in being automatically removed from play.
Can you take a cover save against this?
Unless specified otherwise, yes, you'll receive a save. I'd double check the codex for the exact wording it uses, or the Big Rule Book (what's the new abbreviation?) for what it says about Psychic shooting powers.
GW has gotten pretty good about making sure their bases are covered. If its still unclear, it'll probably be errata'd soon, if it hasn't already.
EDIT: After looking it over closely, it does seem that it is rather vague on this subject. Check for an errata. If I were playing, I'd say that saves would be allowed.
Last edited by Adrian MalSeraph; May 3rd, 2010 at 12:09. Reason: Did proper research.
Ok ignore this. I checked the rulebook faq that states that cover can only be taken from psychic shooting attacks that cause wounds. I think this is also covered from tau markerlights shots. I don't think you can get cover save from a shooting attack that doesn't cause a wound.
Although I disagree with some of this since they add flavour text to cover save rules which imply that the idea behind cover saves is intentionally generous te represent real life scenarios.
If it doesn't cause a wound, you cannot take saves, psychic shooting attack or no. You can't save a wound which hasn't been inflicted. The "save", insofar as there is one, is the Initiative test.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
A giant chasm opens up in the ground beneath you, and men jump away to avoid falling in before it closes. Now, does the fact that the guy causing the chasm is on the other side of a wall save you from this?
The Emperor Protects
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"