Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I can't remember since I've never gone against a vehicle squadron before, and I won't have my rulebook back until the day of the match.
Would the victim allocate the glancing/penetrating hits amongst the vehicles then roll for each damage result separately,
separate the glancing/penetrating hits with colored dice, and then roll for damage results then allocate the damage results as he see fits?
Or are they treated somewhat like multi-wound units? Somewhat similar as if all the models are identical or totally different (like Ork armies do with Nobz)
I believe you allocate the glancing/penetrating hits like you would allocate wounds, and then roll for the damage result as you would roll for armour saves.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
Ze_poodle is correct, say you shoot with a devastator sqaud containing 4 lascannons at a squadron of 3 leman russ tanks, you score 3 hits, this means that each vehicle will receive 1 hit, then you roll for armour penetration for each vehicle seperately.
1. A Dev squad with 4 lascannons scores 3 hits.
2. Those three hits are then rolled for armor penetration. (missing this one)
3. Then the glancing and penetrating hits are assigned to vehicles in the squadron.
4. Then each glance/pen hit are rolled for the assigned vehicle on the Vehicle Damage Chart.
Step 2 Note: All Penetration rolls are done against the closest facing of the vehicle squadron visible to the unit firing.
ze_poodle has it correct he just left out the entire order.
Last edited by Xpyre35; May 5th, 2010 at 14:47.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Thank you for the help. One more question came about.
Say I roll up on the left side of a vehicle squadron and am able to see the entire facing, but am unable to see any part of the remaining vehicles in the squadron due to the one I am aiming at is blocking the LOS of the others. Would the squadron get a cover save because of this?
No, vehicles in the same unit don't provide cover for one another. This is mutually however and each vehicle can also shoot through other vehicles in its own unit without any penalty.
Everything said in this thread is all described on page 64 in the rulebook, in case you need reference on the day of the game.