Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can you allocate wounds to engaged models so that unengaged models cannot be subject to any more attacks.
My opponent needed to contest the objective to prevent my win so in an attempt to keep me locked in combat he opted to allocate wounds to all the models that were engaged so that it got to the point that my power fist models (lower Initiative) were no longer engaged and so their attacks could not happen. However there were plenty of models left in the opposing unit.
Is this allowed?
I suspect that it is but I reckon its pretty lame because he had already attacked and failed to kill my units and then he went on to pile in (end of combat) pass his LD test (equalled the penalised LD) and subsequently the game was a draw not my win.
I'm pretty sure that my two pfists would have inflicted 2-4 wounds thereby lowering his LD even more and possibly winning the game if he had removed his models from the back as I have come to consider is the convention in wound allocation.
The rulebook specifies that you should take models from the back so that your engaged models can fight on and this is phrased more like a recommendation than a rule. So I can understand how in a position where you would clearly benefit you could exploit this as my opponent did. I was left complaining that this was legal but unfair and ended up looking like a crybaby.
What are youropinions on this?
Last edited by dafridge; May 8th, 2010 at 23:17.
A model engaged at the start of the combat will get to do its attacks even if there's no models in B2B once it's initiative is reached.. It does however have to aim its attacks on the enemy unit it was engaged with.. So in complex multiple combats you might lose your attacks under rare circumstances where one enemy is wiped out.
Edit: For a rulebook reference read most of page 35.
Last edited by LastDinosaur; May 9th, 2010 at 00:25.
Yeah, Dinosaur has it right. Unless the entire unit you were engaged with is wiped out, you will still get to attack even if the specific models you were in b2b with are dead.
Also you must distribute wounds evenly so if he had a 10 man unit with 5 guys engaged. if you do 10 wounds he has to put a wound on each guy not 2 on the 5 guys that are engaged.
So what you are saying is that my orcc nobs with powerklaws would still have dealt their attacks to the opposing unit even though there are no models in b2b?
Ahh pg 35 says specifically that who is engaged is worked out at the beginning of the combat and will not change. So I was duped...again!
For example, if your assaulting unit is strung out in a line and make that assault, then remove the close guys to enemy wounds, the enemy unit might have to pile-in so far they end up moving off the objective.