Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok so i have a question in regards to lash of submission I understand the basic concept behind but I was wondering a little bit into the specifics of it for instance if a person uses lash may he move the unit into any formation he sees fit as long as its within the distance he rolled for or must he moved the unit into a blob almost reminiscent of deep striking formation?
Yes they can, this is one of the common uses of the power. It blobs things up perfectly for vindicators/defilers/plasmacannons.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
That's exactly right - you get to pick up entire units that way. At least you can pack up faster!
Basically you can move the enemy unit in pretty much any fashion you wish. Having said that, there are specific restrictions on what you *cannot* do, and these are outlined in the Chaos Space Marine FAQ
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
As I understood it they stay exactly 'as is' but move the 2d6 inches...
OK thank you for the responses and the link to chaos FAQ. My friend just learned to really annoy me with lash. He picks up my 25 gargoyle unit and puts them in a long line with just a few near daemon prince and some raptors then assaults them getting full attacks and allowing me half or less of mine as most of the unit is more than 2 inches from my other models in base to base.
He really shouldn't move any figure more than the 2d6" dice roll....so the 'long line' of 25 models is curious to me.
You're lucky he doesn't have Oblits who can plasma cannon you to death
I've used lash extensively - you don't need that long of one to do a line resulting in combat-zone-foo. If you're on the side of a unit you wish to assault, a 6" lash will be sufficient. The trick is to have your assaulting unit clumped up pretty tightly packed, then when you lash your opponent, have their closest model around 5" away from yours,. After that, string ~4 guys out at max coherency directly away from your unit off of that closest model. The rest of the unit hangs in a clump behind them.
After you make your assault, you only have one guy in base contact with the closest enemy, but your unit is all clumped up close enough so that everyone can attack off of him. Then your enemy counter attacks, but will only get a very small amount of people into his combat zone due to most of the unit being so far away from the only point you were able to touch his.