Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm returning to playing Warhammer 40k after a 10 year break, and my things have changed!
A question that has arisen recently in my gaming group revolves around the Eldar Avatar.
5th edition rules now state that you only ever get one saving throw, be it Armour, cover or invulnerable, which ever is the most appropriate. Is that correct?
Reason I ask is wording from the Eldar codex, where it reads under Avatar Special rules:
Daemon: to all intents and purposes, an avatar is a deamon and will therefore be affected by weapons and abilities that effect daemons. he benefits from a 4+ invulnerable save as well as his 3+ armour save.
So, if I shoot the Avatar, with say a boltgun, would he get his invulnerable save, if he were to fail his Armour save?
Thanks very much, that helps.
In the spirit of fairness; does anyone else have any thoughts, or do we all agree with A.T?
I forgot to put it in my original post - but the page number you'll want is 24 (main rulebook) under models with more than one save
AT's got it precisely correct.
Yep, A.T. is on the money. The Avatar's statline shows only his armour save; the text tells you that he also has an invulnerable save available to him if he should need it. However, you can only ever roll one type of save against a wound, and that is up to you which one you use. As the BRB says, you will use the one which is the best/most appropriate to the prevailing situation.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
i knew it was a numpty question, but you know how some arguments can get!
Things really have chanced since the 3rd Ed!
I think its only in fantasy that you get an additional save (ward)? Could be wrong ._.
I hear and I forget, I see and I remember, I do and I understand
Success is the ability to go from failure to failure without losing your enthusiasm.
Except if you have FnP then you have a 4+ save if you fail your armou save