Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I am sure this has come up at some point with as many mech-ork armies scourging the 40k universe.
The quick of it is, I was less than 24 inches away from some space marine bikers who had just come in from reserve with a truck carrying 5 nobs and a pain boy. The space marine player has positioned his bikes less than 6 inches from the road, and I wanted to assault them.
Page 57 says "Vehicles...... move at cruising speed following a road..... may move up to an extra 6 inches"
This seemed good, but I thought to check the rules for transports and fast transports.
The rules for transports seemed a dead end so I then checked under fast vehicles on page 70 in the paragraph which says," Passengers may not embark or disembark.......if the vehicle has moved flat out in that movement phase."
I read the sum of these statements to mean that i can move 18" down the road as long as I stay on the road (moving at cruising and getting the 6" bonus), then I can disembark at the end of this trip and assault since it is open topped. Especially since it does not specifically say this counts as flat out movement in the roads blurb. This becomes important especially because moving flat out would also stop people from being able to fire.
My opponent, unhappy with the idea of losing 6 space marine bikers with an attack bike, argued that technically moving at 18" is considered flat out even though it was derived through the bonus speed given by the roads to cruising speed.
To be gentlemen, we diced for it, with the understanding the question would be posted later on Librarium.
I posted this in the orks forum thinking maybe someone would have run into this before. It doesn't seem like many people have.
Most agreed that bonuses were added after speeds were declared, besides distance, the bonus 6 inches should behave similar to the bonus 1 inch given for a red paint job. This being, it does not strip you of the cruising speed status so assaulting is still a possible option.
What are the opinions of those who contribute to this rules forum? My friend I will greatly appreciate your ideas. If possible, please indicate which material your response is based on.
That your cruising speed may be more or less than usual for whatever reason is neither here nor there, it's still cruising speed.
(after all, if you were moving flat out you wouldn't be able to claim the extra 6" for moving at cruising speed on a road...)
Yep, you still only moved at Cruising Speed. The rule for Roads on P.57 BRB doesn't say that if you perform this extra movement, you are declared as having moved "flat out", as you already said.
The other point to note is that it is a FAST vehicle which is prevented from disgorging its passengers if it moved/intended to move flat out, ie between the two distances stated on P.70 under "Moving Fast Vehicles". An open-topped vehicle such as you were using is not presumably designated "Fast" (I don't own an Ork Codex) so would not therefore come under this restriction since it couldn't normally move >12".
So the assault was legal, as far as I can see. Nice work!
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Fast vehicles are capable of a third level of speed, called 'flat out'. A fast vehicle going flat out moves more than 12" and up to 18". This represents the fast vehicle moving at top speed, without firing its guns and is treated in all respects exactly the same as moving at cruising speed for a vehicle that is not fast (except where otherwise noted). For example, a fast vehicle moving flat out on a road may move up to 24".
I think with the little blurb there at the end about fast vehicles moving flat out on a road indicates you'd still be just moving at regular cruising speed on a road and therefore still be eligible to disembark.
Much as I'd hate to be on the receiving end of this, I'd have to concur with Moob. The extra 6" doesn't change your status, it's like anything IRL, a tank can go some extra 10 mph on a road over what it can off it. That extra speed doesn't suddenly stop it firing it's main gun though. Same in 40K, it's because a road is smooth, not rugged like a battlefield that you get the extra 6" move. So you were quite right to be able to assault after with it being 'open topped'. Unlucky for your opponent, but you know what they say.... doo doo occurs. Tactically brilliant on your part to think of this in the heat of battle. I bet a fair few people would have missed that one.