Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have Al raheim in reserve, and say I attach an IC(that doesn't have scout or infiltrate) to one of his squads, do they also get to outflank? I"m assuming that his rule overrides that fact that the IC doesn't have the abilitiy.
I believe it does although there is some rules saying it doesn't, i.e. Ghaz cannot tag along with Snikrot. However, Al'rahem doesn't give Scouts or Infiltrate, he just says you HAVE TO Outflank. This is not conferring a choice ability, it's a must ability, so in my opinion they can go along for the ride.
1- Al'Rahem gives any unit that is part of his Platoon the ability to Outflank.
2- When an Independent Character joins a unit he becomes part of it.
A question of timing.. Do you get to join the character before the platoon is given outflank? Who knows..
Probably Al'Rahem would give the platoon outflank by the time you build the list and you only assign ICs just prior to battle, so strict RAW would probably be a no.. Haven't looked up references in the book though.
All this said I'd always allow the ICs to outflank with the platoon as I don't think it's anything near an unfair advantage.. Nastiest thing that could be brought in this way would be a GK Grandmaster I guess.. I wouldn't mind..
I don't have the BRB in front of me, but I'm pretty sure you attach ICs etc. before placing units in Reserves, so I'm fairly sure this is how it would work but I could be wrong.
You can attach ICs into a unit for Reserves, you just have to announce if they''re with a unit so they're rolled for together or alone so they're rolled for alone.
I did however actually open my rulebook now.
Essence of Page 94:
1. During deployment you decide which units are left in reserve or not.
2. Then you join independent characters to unit.
3. Put units inside transports.
4. Decide whether they'll arrive normally, outflank or deep strike.
Frankly this doesn't leave me any more certain, and I can see it ruled either way as it's not clear what to do with strict RAW.
It's still a matter of the timing of when the platoon receives the ability to outflank (which they actually don't do explicitly at any time, it's just stated that they must arrive by it...).
If the platoon is given outflank prior to the battle (during list building) then the IC wouldn't be allowed to join as he can't outflank himself.
If it is given by the time you 'decide' that you must outflank, then the IC would be free to join..
This would imply however that in a DH army with an inducted IG platoon led by Al'Rahem you can suddenly outflank landraiders aswell =)
Nevermind you can take characters as Inducted, what an odd rule....
Frankly it seems like a game call as there's no rules either way. Personally I'd allow it, there's no broken combos like Ghaz/Snikrot. You can walk a Grand Master on the board, very easy to play around.
Last edited by EmoJosh; May 17th, 2010 at 16:46.
I'm fairly sure Al'Rahem can walk guys on via Outflank because this is not an issue of him granting Infiltrate or Scout IIRC, so the rules for losing a special rule if joined by an IC without it in the BRB aren't applicable. This is a character-specific special rule that allows (forces, actually) you to arrive using a standard deployment mechanism. So unless the IC's rules state that they cannot join Al'Rahem's unit or cannout arrive via Reserves/Outflanking specifically I'm not sure why you couldn't do this.