Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I pick a 10 man tac squad with Rhino. At deployment I combat squad the said 10 man squad into two 5 man squads.
Question can both 5 man squads start in the Rhino?
The Rhino is dedicated to both 5 man squads, but I am thinking they are classed as two different units and therefore can not share the same transport simultaneously, despite there being enough room.
Thanks for your advice.
I may be wrong on this, and others will correct me, which I will gladly concede with relevant evidence, but what I am thinking lies on pg 67 of the BrB under the heading of Transport Vehicles, Transport Capacity:
"... - a unit may never be partially embarked or spread across multiple transport vehicles."
This I believe says that the entire squad must be embarked on your rhino if you were to use it, so therefore the Rhino may not be used in conjunction with your split 5 man squads. You would need to embark all 10 if you wanted to utilise it.
I do not own a Space Marine codex, and am only applying my knowledge to the core rules, so as I have said may be incorrect, but this is the ruling.
Light a fire for a man, and he will be warm for a night. Light a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
You can purchase a rhino with a 10 man combat squad. However, if you intend on combat squading that unit. That large unit become 2 independent units, therefore only 1 would be able to be in the rhino at once. It is very typical to split the unit into 4 bolter marines and the heavy weapon to sit back and support. And the Sgt., Special weapon, and 3 bolter marines to charge up to the front lines inside the rhino.
Last edited by Xpyre35; May 18th, 2010 at 13:16.
Xpyre35 is right. Here is the wording from the Dark Angels FAQ:
Q. If I split a Tactical Squad into two Combat squads, can both embark at the same time into a dedicated transport vehicle that was purchased for the unit?
A. They cannot both be embarked at the same time because they are no longer a single unit, and transports can only carry a single infantry unit.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Thanks chaps that is what i thought. Each squad is classified as a separate unit for kill points so they can not combine in their transport.