Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I saw this as more of a rules type dilemna than anything else, even though I am referring specifically to two armies, so don't hold this against me. I figured that there might be other rules that abide to this as well in other armies, so I post here.
The Necrons have a piece of wargear called the Gaze of Flame. Its function is to negate the +1 attack a unit gains when charging into combat against the Necron Lord that has this.
Now say that a unit of Space Wolves, for arguments sake say Wolf Guard, which has the Counter Attack rule gets charged by a Lord with a Gaze of Flame. The Lord gains his +1 Attack for charging, but so do the Wolf Guard.
Now my question is: does the Counter Attack... attack come into play here, or is it negated?
The Codex says that any additional advantages due to a unit's special abilities are unaffected, but I am not too sure here.
Thanks in advance for any help.
Light a fire for a man, and he will be warm for a night. Light a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
In my heart I'd like to give all the help to the Necrons that they can get.
The Wolf Guard however aren't actually performing a charge, so I will have to say no, their attacks are not negated. In a way it's like the whole Furious Charge/Counter Attack discussion (which doesn't work either).
Like last dinasous said the unit will not lose its counter attack. Counter Attacking is not charging, it gives a similar bonus to charging but as they will not get other charge bonuses such as furious charge i'd have to say that they will still get thir extra attack.
I'd also give this rulung to nits with defensive grenades charging an enemy that has counter attack. The anti charge abilities only work when your foes are charging.
Hell if we allowed this imaging a unit with counter attack assaulting a unit with counter attack, if they count as charging each time they will go on in a never ending loop of adding attacks. We have to draw the line somewhere :p
The Emperor Protects
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
Gaze of Flame only works against models who are charging.
Counter Charge is not "charging" per se, as stated in the SW FAQ.
GoF therefore cannot negate the bonus attack from Counter Charge.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.