Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I read in the rule book p94 "Remember that a dedicated transport can only be deployed, and consequently can only be kept in reserve, either empty or transporting the unit it was selected with (plus any independent characters)."
This is the only reference I found that suggested a Transport could be deployed empty, and hence the unit it was bought with would be deployed separately.
In my specific case it would seem that I could buy a WaveSerpent for my Dark Reapers (Heavy Support), deploy the Reapers normally with out the vehicle (hence can fire 1st turn) and either depoly 'their' WaveSerpent or keep it in reserves.
One could also then buy a Land Raider as a transport for termies, then deep strike the termies.
Seems kind of cheesy.
Your assumption is perfectly accurate, as per the quote from the RB. It also states categorically in the Chaos 2008 FAQ that squads with 11+ CSM can take a dedicated transport, which they could never use without taking casualties first
kryite has it right here, hey I've even stressed the utility of an empty drop pod. Buy the unit get them a pod and deploy the unit, you can now block firing lanes, contest objectives for very cheap, and bring in more drop pods (preferably loaded with units) on the first turn. Many armies have options like this and I personally don't see it as cheese, your paying for a transport and then not using it for it's primary function.
Ask me about the Black and White Space Marine on the Black and White Bike!!!
I take a transport with my noise marines, but only use it as a moving wall to set up lanes of fire for them! Perfectly legal!
Yes, I did deep-strike your sister...
Necrons : W-8 D-3 L-7 (Sleeping in their TombFoam, waiting for a new codex)
Chaos Forces (CSM/CD): W-42 D-19 L-28
Apocalypse Games : W-4 D-0 L-1 (4 Titans, Brass Scorp, 3 Baneblades, 2 Bombers, 3 Fighters, and a Partrage in a Pear Tree)
Yep, you can do one of 4 things with a dedicated transport.
1) Reserve with unit it was bought for
2) Reserve without unit it was bought for
-Unit can deploy
-Unit can go into reserve seperately
3) Deploy with unit it was bought for
4) Deploy without unit it was bought for
-Unit can deploy seperately
-Unit can go in reserve
You could even deploy an empty dedicated transport while the unit it was dedicated to deploys in a non-dedicated transport. Such as buying a Tactical Squad a rhino, then deploying them in a HS Land Raider. This would allow you to use the rhino as cover, tank shock, contest objectives, or pick up another unit that had its transport destroyed.
The Emperor Protects
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
empty rhinos would be great
Wraithguard also suffer from the "Can buy the transport, but not use it" syndrome.
Wave Serpents serve my armies role as a dedicated tank, so I almost always deploy them empty (unless they're carrying Dire Avengers).