Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I wasn't sure if this belonged in the Supplements section, but it's a Rules Question first and foremost so I thought I would post it here.
Okay, here's the issue.
The Spearhead Rule states that:It goes on to sayOriginally Posted by Spearhead Formations PDFWhich is fair enough. However, the rules for the Seek and Destroy Formation include the following as their "Lightning Assault" special rule:Originally Posted by Spearhead Formations PDFMy question is: Can the models in a Seek and Destroy Spearhead fire the additional weapon allowed by the Spearhead Rule on the turn which they use their special ability?Originally Posted by Spearhead Formations PDF
It's a sticky one which could be debated either way from what I can see - the Lightning Assault rule states that they shoot as if they had not moved flat out, so if you go off that then the should be able to, however the Spearhead Rule specifically mentions that you cannot use the rule if you have moved flat out, and the Spearhead rule is an exception to normal shooting.
Personally, I'd be tempted to say that they can fire the additional weapon, but I'm interested to see what my fellow gamers think!
That was my take. It just seems overkill, but hey, if I can move a load of Land Speeder Typhoons 24" then fire both their multi-Meltas and Krak Missiles (into some nice, spongy rear armour), who am I to complain?
I agree that you would be able to fire your weapons. Just to also point out that it enables you to fire an extra weapon NOT take an extra shot with a weapon. I don't know what Typhoons have. But I just wanted to point that out for any other readers.
I'd say no. Here's why:
"all models in the Seek & Destroy Spearhead can move flat out or use Turbo-boosters and can shoot as if they had moved at combat speed or not Turbo-boosted."
You're not 'counting as not turbo-boosting' as previously suggested, you're moving flat out, but being permitted to shoot anyway.
Since this excludes it from seek and destroy which says:
"Note that vehicles which are moving flat out may not take advantage of this rule"
So you are saying that seek and destroy allows you to shoot when you have moved flat out, but not make use of special rules that you normally can't use if you move flat out, even if the rule is about shooting? There is some logic to that, another case of of badly worded rules, I'm not sure either way now.
I think the rule as intended is to allow you to shoot, but the rule would have had to have been written in a different way, saying 'spearhead allows you to shoot one more weapon than normal when you move up to flat out, and none when you move flat out'. By not just saying you can shoot a gun, but saying the whole rule doesn't count they have introduced some ambiguity.
I think this will have to be a situation we decide with our opponents on a friendly basis until its FAQed since I don't think the rules are clear enough to rule either way.
I think it's probably intentional. They want you to be able to move fst and still shoot once per game, but they don't want to give you a potentially imbalanced alpha strike.
The wording of the rules is pretty clear.
Lightning Assault: Once per game you may do B even if you do A.
Seek and Destroy: You may do C as long as you have not done A.
Lightning Assault: Once per game you may do B as if A had never happened.
Spearhead Rule: You may do C as long as A has not happened.
Assuming A is turbo-boosting, B is shooting, and C is the extra shot for Spearhead Rule (which falls under shooting in my opinion).