Grimnar's Champion, Behind Enemy's Lines, and Tempest's Wrath questions - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member MylesTheTroll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Age
    31
    Posts
    199
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Grimnar's Champion, Behind Enemy's Lines, and Tempest's Wrath questions

    I know, I know.....a lot of Space Wolves questions. My friend and I recently just bought/converted Space Wolves and Blood Angels armies, and have a skimish tonight.

    Does Arjac need to be in base to base contact with an IC to allocate all his attacks towards him, or doe this ability mean that he can be in base to base contact with a member of the opposing ICs squad, and still be able to allocate hits on the IC?

    For Tempest's Wrath, does it only count for moves in the MOVEMENT phase, or does it count for when the run and assault too?

    Would an IC with the Hunter Saga be able to use the Behind Enemy Lines outflank ability when attached to Wolf Scouts? I'm not seeing any specific reason as to why they wouldn't be able to since they become a part of the unit just like a Wolf Guard would, IC or not.

    Notable Achievements: Farseer w/ SS taking down a Monolith all by itself in one shooting phase. A Warlock w/ SS in a Guardian squad on an objective taking down a Soul Grinder in one Shooting phase. 2nd turn 2 DSing Trygon Primes going from 6-0 wounds during turn 3.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    jy2
    jy2 is offline
    Hive Fleet Pandora jy2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    5,068
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    797 (x8)

    Arjac, like any model, must attack whoever he is in base with. If he is in base with an IC and the unit, he can choose to attack either. If he is in base with just the IC or the just the unit, then he must attack that unit. However, if he is not in base with either but within 2" of someone in base with them, then he can attack either. Remember, Arjac is an upgrade character, not an IC himself. He is basically a glorified, super-expensive sergeant.

    Tempest's Wrath applies whenever there is movement so it applies in movement, shooting and assault phases. Just keep in mind that if you're running or assaulting, you are not actually moving as jump infantry and will not have to take the tests. I do believe, however, that the extra jump move in assault for jetbikes and tau jetpacks do apply as jump movement so will be affected.

    For you last question, no. IC's and special rules are not transferable unless specified otherwise. Wolf Guards have been FAQ'd as yes because they are not IC's but a part of the squad they joined.
    Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
    Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
    Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2

  4. #3
    Member MylesTheTroll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Age
    31
    Posts
    199
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by jy2 View Post
    Arjac, like any model, must attack whoever he is in base with. If he is in base with an IC and the unit, he can choose to attack either. If he is in base with just the IC or the just the unit, then he must attack that unit. However, if he is not in base with either but within 2" of someone in base with them, then he can attack either. Remember, Arjac is an upgrade character, not an IC himself. He is basically a glorified, super-expensive sergeant.
    Thanks.
    Last edited by MylesTheTroll; June 10th, 2010 at 22:32.
    Notable Achievements: Farseer w/ SS taking down a Monolith all by itself in one shooting phase. A Warlock w/ SS in a Guardian squad on an objective taking down a Soul Grinder in one Shooting phase. 2nd turn 2 DSing Trygon Primes going from 6-0 wounds during turn 3.

  5. #4
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    Just to add a little to the Arjac question: if Arjac was in BtB with an IC and a unit, his rules say that he HAS to allocate his attacks towards an IC if possible. So he would not be able to split his attacks between an IC and another unit if both were in BtB with him.

    If a model is in BtB with only one unit, it has to attack that unit, so if Arjac is in BtB with the unit but not with the IC, he cannot attack the IC. Don't forget also that ICs are treated as separate units in CC unless they are with a retinue.

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

  6. #5
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by jy2 View Post
    Tempest's Wrath applies whenever there is movement so it applies in movement, shooting and assault phases. Just keep in mind that if you're running or assaulting, you are not actually moving as jump infantry and will not have to take the tests. I do believe, however, that the extra jump move in assault for jetbikes and tau jetpacks do apply as jump movement so will be affected.
    Except that the power affects certain Unit Types, not movement types. By the wording, the listed Unit Types are always affected.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  7. #6
    Senior Member Draake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Age
    29
    Posts
    316
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by jy2 View Post
    Wolf Guards have been FAQ'd as yes because they are not IC's but a part of the squad they joined.
    Thanks jy2! I was going to ask this very question.

  8. #7
    jy2
    jy2 is offline
    Hive Fleet Pandora jy2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    5,068
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    797 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by psichotykwyrm View Post
    Except that the power affects certain Unit Types, not movement types. By the wording, the listed Unit Types are always affected.
    Good catch. From a RAW perspective you are correct. That means they are affected even when running, assaulting or even walking in the movement phase. It also means that some units that should normally be affected may not (depending on their wording in their descriptions). Such creatures may include some chaos space marines or monstrous creatures with "wings". Once again, it would depend on the specific wording of each codex.
    Last edited by jy2; June 11th, 2010 at 05:28.
    Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
    Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
    Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts