A question about force organization - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    A question about force organization

    Hi, this question might be dumb, but is it possible to take more than one HQ choice?

    More specifically, I play the 'nids, and was wondering if both a Hive Tyrant and a Tervigon could be fielded at the same time. I have a feeling that they can't, but I just wanted to be sure because I haven't found anything that says "1 HQ, no exceptions".

    Thanks in advance.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member MylesTheTroll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Age
    31
    Posts
    199
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Most armies can only take up to 2 HQ choices. Consult the Force Organization chart on the page before the Army Lists. Some armies such as Daemons and Space Wolves, to name a few, can deploy up to 4 HQs meaning that one HQ slot equals 2 HQs. Whether an army can do this or not is specifically detailed on said page.
    Notable Achievements: Farseer w/ SS taking down a Monolith all by itself in one shooting phase. A Warlock w/ SS in a Guardian squad on an objective taking down a Soul Grinder in one Shooting phase. 2nd turn 2 DSing Trygon Primes going from 6-0 wounds during turn 3.

  4. #3
    Member Hockeyman506's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,648
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    184 (x5)

    If you are playing nid, yes, a Tervigon and Tyrant are fine. I'd recommend you field the Tervigon as a troop choice if at all possible (unless you don't have anymore space in the troop choices).

  5. #4
    LO Zealot Mr. Biscuits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Age
    22
    Posts
    1,169
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x4)

    Generally it is mandatory to take 1 HQ choice with a second choice as an option, however some armies and expansions do break this rule. For instance like mentioned before Space Wolves and Daemons can each take up to 4 HQ choices. Planetstrike will give you the option to include up to 3 HQ choices, Spearhead will remove the minimum requirement, Appocalypse will eliminate all minimum and maximums, and Cities of Death and Planetary Empires I beleive will have no effect. I'm not sure about any effects Battle Missions would have.

    When designing any standard list for tournaments or regular pick up games however Tyranids will have one mandatory HQ choice and another optional so a Hive Tyrant and Tervigon in the same list is 100% legal.
    Ask me about the Black and White Space Marine on the Black and White Bike!!!

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x1)

    Dark Eldar can have 6 =p, as Haemoculous are 1-3.

  7. #6
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    That's still only 2 choices.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts