Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
One SM Terminator squad may have ONE dedicated transport, does it count as one unit or two. Dedicated transports do not take up any slots and are selected together as one plus any independent character. (pg 67 mini rule book)
Part 2, so if it is one UNIT can a psychic ability target the transport?
It counts as a seperate unit, but does not take up a force org slot. As far as psychic abilities, it depends on the particular ability, but I think most of them can target dedicated transports.
Welcome to LO!
All individual codex entries are seperate units. So a space marine captain with his command squad and a rhino transport would be three seperate units. There would be the Captain (Indep Character), the Command Squad (Squad) and there would b the Rhino (Transport). They can all act independantly and so are treated as different units, although they can co-exist.
Does that help at all?
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
They have to be treated as separate units, otherwise you get the odd situation where a transport and its cargo can be fired upon simultaneously.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
Focusing his Warp-sense, the Librarian creates a corridor of
safe passage through the Immaterium, allowing him to cross
great distances in but the blink of an eye.
This power is used at the beginning of the Librarian's
Movement phase. The Librarian, and any unit he is with, are
removed from the tabletop and immediately placed back
together anywhere within 24" using the deep strike rules. If
the Librarian travels alone, there is no risk, but if he takes a
unit with him, there is a chance something will go wrong. If
the deep strike attempt scatters and a double is rolled, one
member of the unit, chosen by the controlling player, is
claimed by the Warp and removed as a casualty (the
survivors scatter normally).
So the Librarian could only take with him the Termie unit he has joined, not the transport. He can't join the vehicle, and since both unit and vehicle are two separate units (P.92 BRB under Multiple Unit Choices) he only has the option to take the Termie unit with him if he doesn't go solo.
As far as psychic powers affecting vehicles is concerned, the relevant power will usually state in its details whether it can affect/be used against vehicles.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Yes but, it just says any unit he is with, not joined. Key word being UNIT. The Landraider is its own unit and once embarked he is one with that unit.
We just had this argument in the Eldar thread in regards to a Shadowseer's Veil of Tears ability applying to a transport. I think my response there is still basically appropriate.
"That's a pretty flimsy argument though. You're creating a technical definition for the word "with" that doesn't exist in the core rulebook. I'll be honest, there's nothing in the rules to disprove your claim that "with" also implies "embarked on." Similarly, there's nothing in the rules that disproves my claim that "with" means "in the same army as," and that every unit I field should benefit from VoT as long as the Shadowseer is alive.
There are many abilities and psychic powers that could potentially apply to a transport unit. When they want this to happen however, they'll make a specific note of it, rather than use a common preposition to vaguely imply it."
Ok, can You allocate a wound to a terminator instead of the librarian who is with them?
Can You allocate wound to the Land Raider which is the dedicated transport of that unit?
The psychic abilities work the same way: affects only that part of Your (three part) unit that can TAKE OFF a wound from your psycher. Easy... simple.