Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Was just wondering from a RAW point of view, what people's opinions would be on an IC joining a command squad with an apothecary ie. would the IC gain feel no pain, in and out of combat?
I will base my assumptionn just solely on the core rules. If you have a look at page 74 and 75 of the BrB, under the heading Universal Special Rules, you will find the following information:
"The special rules marked with an asterix are automatically lost by an independent chatacter joining a unit that does not have the same special rule. These rules are also lost by a unit that us joined by an independent character that does not have the same special rule."
If you take a look at the Feel No Pain entry, you wil find that there is no asterix next to its title, unlike Fleet, or Infiltrate. As this is the only place where Feel No Pain is mentioned in the rulebook at all, and that no rule within the entry designates that any model that joins a squad with the special rule will not benefit from it, I believe it is safe to assume that the Independent Character will take advanatge from Feel No Pain, as a result of joining the Apothecary command squad.
Now I do not know what it says in the codex entry regarding the Apothecary, and therefore I can not give you a definitive answer, as I am not taking into account the codex itself. But I think that this is a pretty good fundamental understanding of what happens.
Hope that helps.
Light a fire for a man, and he will be warm for a night. Light a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
if you take a look at the command squad entry in the marine codex it states that the apothecary gives all models in his squad feel no pain...and since an ic can join the command squad then yes the apothecary does give the ic feel no pain for as long as he is part of the squad
Maytl's got it right, it is not a matter of the squad's USR transferring to the IC, it's a matter of the Apothecary's special rule granting a USR to all the members of the squad (which includes attached ICs). If the Command Squad included the FNP rule in their stat line (as opposed to it being granted to them by the Apothecary) then the IC would not benefit.
I believe the OP is questioning the IC when in close combat, as in close combat the IC is often treated as a separate unit.
The rule regarding ICs and assaults is on page 49 in the BRB. The first sentence of the 2nd paragraph pretty much answers the question. The IC is part of the unit. Only when attacks are resolved, is the IC treated as a separate unit.
So, yes, the apothecary's ability works for the IC in assaults as well.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.