Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'll cut straight to it. If an independant character (by himself) were to deep strike, and land within 2" of a friendly unit, could you then declare that the character has moved into coherancy and joined the unit?
If you did, would you be unable to move the rest of the models in the unit?
Basically, I want to have a termi lash sorc beam down to an icon and then have the dudes that brought him in catch bullets for him. I think the sorcerer would be a fun addition to a summony list, but a lot less so if my opponent can respond by handing him a faceful of instant death with one krak missile. So I'm wondering if this is rules-legal.
According to the rules on page 48 of the rulebook I'd say that regardless of where he lands he MUST join that unit if they're within 2" at the end of the movement phase, you don't have a choice.
You could DS him 5 or 6 inches in front of the icon guy (assuming it has a 6" range like teleport homers/locator beacons), then move the unit 6" forward into coherency with him and he would count as joined to the unit.
The one thing to watch out for is units that can shoot at DSers as they land (I know demonhunters and some others can do this) since he won't count as joined to the unit till the end of your movement phase.
Last edited by Bugs_n_Orks; June 23rd, 2010 at 15:30.
The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. Bring them understanding of the power of ourselves through our strength and their fear. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all fragments will be smashed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be consumed
This is an interesting concept, and a good question. I'll try and apply some sound logic here.
If you have a look at pg 48 of the BrB, it states that:
"In order to join a unit, an independent character simply has to move within thr 2" coherency distance of a friendly unit at the end of their Movement phase."
Now, if you turn to the Deep Strike rules, it is perfectly legal that a model is placed next to any of your friendly models, but is disallowed from being placed on top of them, and hence determing a certain Mishap! as I am sure you are aware.
We have to think of this in terms of a structure in which things occur. Deepstriking does not allow any movement of any sort after arrival, unless stiplated by a codex entry or the possibilty that they may want to disembark from a transport that also arrived via Deepstrike with them.
So, the Deepstrike occurs. The friendly unit arrives first, in a fashionable way, and then your "termi lash sorc" next, landing within 2" of a model belonging to that friendly unit. This is the Deepstrike over. Then the Movement phase begins. Now as I have mentioned that the IC has to be within 2" at the end of the relevant Movement phase, and because no such movement takes place with either of those units, the Movement phase can be concluded, of course after you have moved the rest of your army.
Because the fact of being within 2" at the end of the Movement phase has been fulfilled, it would be safe assume that this can take place.
I hope I haven't confused you, and that it helps.
Light a fire for a man, and he will be warm for a night. Light a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
Good to hear the positive responses so far. Though an item of clarification: in the example I was thinking of, the squad that the IC would be joining was already in place; only the IC was deepstriking (also note that icons can't be used as teleport homers if they haven't been in play since the beginning of turn).
The thing that I'm worried about getting rules lawyered over is the phrasing of precisely the passage you guys are quoting... the rulebook does explicitely state that the IC must "move" in order to fulfil the conditions as described. Since arriving via deep strike doesn't qualify as movement (despite causing things to count as having moved), there's an arguement there that the rules don't allow for this play.
To my mind this is asking more technical prescision from GW's text than they would claim to have put there, but that's me.
Arguing that he hasn't moved is silly. If he counts as moving, then he counts as moving.
Deepstriking or otherwise entering from Reserves is referred to 'deployment'. One then only needs to consider what the rules tell us about deploying ICs in coherency with units.
Last edited by psichotykwyrm; June 24th, 2010 at 02:53.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
The IC is not required to move in order to join a unit. There are several ways the IC can join a unit without moving, as the rule also contains that if the IC is within 2" of a unit, he is then joined at the end of the movement phase.
Also, psichotikwyrm stated. Deep Striking units count as moved, therefore your DSing IC criteria the has moved anyway.