Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Simple enough, I guess. Scouts says they get a free move "as in their Movement Phase". Can you use Turbo Boosters (for 24" Movement) during the Scouts move?
Question has come up with regards to Ork Deffkoptas.
According to the BRB FAQ, yes you may turboboost or go flat out during a scout move. The thorny issue of whether or not this confers a cover save during the first turn is not addressed however, and something you and your opponent or gaming group should work out beforehand.
Thanks for the quick response. Wanted to make sure my new-to-Warhammer girlfriend gets all the mileage she can out of her Deffkoptas.
i dont think you do get the cover save because it is like it has happened in turn 0. Thats why you can still move, shoot and charge on turn one, since it is your next turn.
Don't forget the Scout rule restrictions on page 76. Namely, one may not come within 12" of an enemy with a Scout move. Just something players can easily forget when making 'fast' Scout moves.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
Its pretty clear imo. Both rules are on pg76 and since the faq says you can turbo boost then you get the 3+ if you meet the requirement. I used to argue against this before I became aware of the faq but now its crystal clear.
I use this tactic with deffkoptas and sometimes to avoid the 12" rule I turbo boost them across my deployment line.
We can't assume anything, though. If I'm not mistaken, the wording Isn't you "get a cover save if you turbo-boosted in the previous turn" but rather "you get a cover save until their next shooting phase"
I do recall it being worded in such a way that, if I got first turn, I could scout-turbo boost my, lets say, Vendetta. Then on my turn deploy its contents, move 6 inches, and fire everything. Because of how the rule was worded, I still get the cover save, because your next shooting phase hasn't come yet.
But hey, this is all from memory. I don't risk scout-turbo boosting Vendettas, lest my opponents catch on to the trick when I absolutely need it to work.
Thats a shame for poor Dark Angels players then, since Codex: DA, p27 states:Codex I fear trumps BRB, if only for the army involved.'Note that no model may make a Turbo Boost move whilst using the Scouts Special Rule.'
Skimmers will not get their cover save from a scout move, because the wording states that they move as if it was the movement phase. Not that it is a movement phase. However, i believe the Jetbike flat-out wording, is different, so that you can in fact claim in by RAW from bike flat-out moves.
Maybe they will address this in the new dark eldar codex, as they are bound to have something that has scout and is a fast skimmer.