Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So a friend and I played today and came across a question regarding the Death Mask rule.
Does one mask (say dantes) confer the rule to the whole unit?
I charged him with Dante, a 10 man assault squad and a sanguinary priest into two scout units.
The squad that dante was in base contact with took a leadership test but the other unit that the rest of his squad charged didn't have to because they did have one.
Is this correct or does he or the rule infer that they as a unit do this?
I can understand both sides so would be interested in your thoughts.
Last edited by Lord Lucias; July 16th, 2010 at 11:31.
The real issue here is that Dante counts as an individual unit in regards to CC. So whilst he is with that unit and they charge together, once the combat gets going he counts as his own unit, theoretically robbing the squad he is with of a Death Mask. Personally, I want to say that both units that were charged have to test for the effects as the wording suggests its done right when the charge is declared, at which time the IC and unit are still one entity. But it really comes down to at what point in the assault phase the test is supposed to be taken. An argument can really be made either way.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
I don't think there is any room for argument. You came to the correct conclusion, Sabe: both units would have to test.
The condition for the test is being "assaulted by one or more unit [sic!] equipped with Death Masks" [page 50, Codex: Blood Angels]. The rulebook considers a unit having been assaulted at the end of all the attackers' assault moves before defenders react, as for example shown on page 34, big rulebook "after all assault moves have been made, the player controlling the units that have been assaulted must move any member of these units [...] towards the enemy", thus moving the attackers is assaulting. And at this stage, before attacks are resolved, an independent character is still part of the unit it has joined [page 49, big rulebook].
So the unit is equipped with a death mask while assaulting both squads, because the condition of "being assaulted" is met while Dante is still considered part of the attacking unit. Both defending squads would have been required to take the test.
Hope that helps!
An IC is only considered a separate unit for the purposes of resolving attacks, so I'd say they both take the test. Dante's still a member of the unit during the "assault" part of the assault phase.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
But the doubiously written (i'm sure GW search for these writers) makes it sound like it could still work.
"An enemy assaulted by one or more unit equipped..."
If it doesn't confer to the unit... he is then in a unit without the rule and no one charged by them would take a test.
I hope you are right obviously but would like to argue the point or test your theories, as no doubt i'll be tested.
It is not a 'special rule', but a piece of wargear. If only one model in a unit had frag grenades, can that model still use them? (Hint: yes.)
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
Yes right you all are. Had a mate explain it that way also.
Its wargear, the unit has that wargear so gets that rule.
Solved, thanks all.