Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi, new to the game and can't find any answer to this anywhere.
If a transport fires it smoke launchers and a unit disembarks the same turn does the unit get a cover save from the smoke at all or is it just the transport vehicle?
I'm hoping that they would as i'm assuming the smoke makes it very hard to see the vehicle so would also make it hard to see if there were troops disembarking also.
If the unit can use the smoke as cover how does it work, do they have to stay within 2" of the vehicle? I assume they can shoot through the smoke if they have line of sight because if they were inside the vehicle they can fire using fire points as normal if the vehicle has used smoke launcher that turn. Thanks
Hey there, and welcome to the boards. While it might make sense for the giant cloud of smoke to also cover the infantry right next to the vehicle, if you double check the rules for Smoke Launchers it only says that they give a cover save to the vehicle that used them. Sometimes the rules for 40K can be tricky, especially as you're just starting to learn, so If I may, there's a couple rules of thumb that hopefully will help you as you learn to navigate the rules of the game:
1.) Common sense is not RAW (rules as written). While you might be able to logically assume something should work a particular way, that doesn't mean that's how it actually is in the rules. Because the game is an abstraction, reality often takes a backseat in order to make balanced and easy to follow rules.
2.) Chances are, if you can't find mention of something in the rules, it probably doesn't exit (like infantry getting a cover save from a vehicle's smoke launchers). 40K is a permissive ruleset, which means the rules have to actually give you permission to do something. If you ever come across a situation and find yourself thinking, "Well the rules don't say I can't..." chances are it's not legal.
It can be a pain to learn, but 40K and wargaming is also a lot of fun and can be a really rewarding hobby. If you've got any other questions there's a great community here, and I'm sure you'll be able to find somebody to help you out.
Thanks, I found out just about everything else I was not sure of. Playing tomorrow me spacewolves, against orks and maybe imperial 750 pt armies each.