Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just wondering what are the rules about vehicle crew?
When a vehicle is destroyed do the crew survive, or do they have to take a saving roll?
Alternatively when a vehicle is incapacitated can you elect to bail out and abandon it?
The reason for asking this is in a game last weekend our troops took a heavy toll - in the end of round 5 there were about 3 Space Marines and 3 Tau left in a capture and control game, although several vehicles.
I had a Land Speeder which had its weapons destroyed in about turn 4, so was now kind of useless. Me and my opponent decided it was okay to just abandon the vehicle and get the troop equivalent (2 Space Marines) - he had a vehicle in a similar condition so got 3 Tau. But are there any rules for this?
Likewise over the crew surviving vehicle destruction - makes sense for tanks, but not really for things like crisis suits, bikes or dreadnoughts. Am I right on that?
So yeah, any crew don't actually exist for all intents and purposes - otherwise you would get into weird situations with the monolith ignoring stunned and shaken and lone tech-priests appearing all over the shop from WH land raiders and the like.
Cheers - as an improvised rule it was okay, but sounds like the pilot is locked into their vehicle - thanks. At least as we both benefited from it similar points worth of army, it was at least applied in a balanced manner!