Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Short and simple, which rule takes precedence.. going to ground which disallows any actions for a round or the weirdboy's psychic test and ability? If the weirdboy is unable to act do they still make the test and suffer from negative results but are unable to target targetable attacks? No test? Full use of the power no matter what?
We had this issue arise in a recent game. The solution is rather simple because the rules don't contradict each other directly and can easily be integrated.
The rulebook says a unit that has gone to the ground may do "nothing of its own volition" [page 24, big rulebook]. Codex: Orks says "weirdboys cannot control their psychic powers" and that they "must take a psychic test" at the start of the shooting phase and then determine the power they are using [page 37, Codex: Orks]. This is nothing of their own volition, so it still takes place.
Once the power is determined, you determine whether you can use it or not. Frazzle and Zzap are (psychic) shooting attacks and using them would be equivalent to shooting a gun, which units do at their own volition: these two powers can't be used. The other powers still "happen", however. (Though the unit is still pinned / gone to the ground after teleporting with 'Ere We Go.)
That's our take. Hope that helps! May your dice fall favorably.
Thanks again Red! That is sort of how I thought it should work, but makes a ton of sense. I really appreciate the help. Seems like I walk away from every game with 90 new questions.. lol
There's a question here of must versus can. Just like Witchhunter Priests "must charge if there is an enemy within reach" but can't if they had just disembarked from a moving vehicle. You must do something, but only if you are legally able to.
Last edited by jy2; July 27th, 2010 at 19:13.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2
Ultimatley we have a general rule about what you can do while "gone to ground" from the BRB. We then have a specific rules about what Weirdboyz must do (general vs. specific . . .). Then we have "If the Weirdboy is in combat, do not apply any result of a 1, 2 or 3 - instead the Weirdboy is treated as having a power weapon for the duration of the turn." This rule tells us what to do if a power can not be used albeit for when locked in combat not "gone to ground". It's a better means of resolving it then allowing a chance for 'eadbanger to go through though. It still leaves the controlled power 'Ere We Go unresolved.
The faq does deal with Glory Hogs and being Pinned and the logic is rationally transferable to this situation, but a faq answer on one ability does not apply to another ability. I always allowed my opponents Tankbusters to follow their Glory Hogs rule till the faq came out. And I'll allow their Weird- Warpboyz to used any of the psychic powers while pinned/grounded until it's faq'd different as I consider that to be RaW.
Last edited by Leez; July 27th, 2010 at 20:14.
Well, personally the way I interpreted the situation was that gone to ground, in this specific case from pinning, negates the unit from taking any action of it's own volition until the end of it's next turn. This distinction means the player can control other units but that unit can "do nothing". The other experienced player involved was hung up on the "must" portion of the Weirdboy rule, which is why I posted this here.
I think going forward to play this RaW we'll be negating the need for even the psychic test and provide no "negative" results or positive results. The reason I see it this way is that if we are interpreting the rules based on how they are written, the rule clearly states the unit will "react normally if affected by enemy actions", this is not a distinction between must and can as much as react versus act. In this way it means that the unit does nothing unless it is reacting to enemy actions, as the weirdboy's psychic powers are not a reaction to enemy action but are an action of their own I qualify this as "do nothing".
But then I'm a newbie and not sure.. just a thought based on the rules as written.