Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, so an opponent was using the FAQ on Grotsnik, and I think they may have misinterpreted what it says. The player had the Dok start in a vehicle, moved the vehicle as fast as possible, disembarked the Dok (and entourage) and assault the nearest unit. On the following turn, the Dok re-embarked on that vehicle, moved the vehicle as fast as possible, and then disembarked again and assaulted.
The core rules specifically state models "may not voluntarily both embark and disembark in the same player turn". They also state that "after disembarking, these models... may not assault." However, the player interpreted the FAQ (quoted below) to mean that Grotsnik is an exception to these rules...The player interpreted these rules to mean that Grotsnik does not pay attention to the embark/disembark rule. Specifically, the Dok is allowed to embark on a vehicle, as long as no one else is in assault range and it gets him closer, and then the vehicle moves as fast as possible toward the target and Grotsnik is allowed to disembark and assault.Q. Can Grotsnik board a vehicle if doing so will get him closer to the nearest enemy than if he moved normally?
A. In the spirit of the rule, if embarking in a vehicle will not prevent him from charging that turn and will also get him closer to the nearest enemy than moving normally that turn, he may do that. Once aboard, the vehicle must always move in such a way as to move as fast as possible towards the closest enemy and allow Grotsnik to disembark and charge the closest enemy as soon as possible.
The player also interpreted these rules to mean that Grotsnik does not pay attention to the no-assault-after-disembark rule. Specifically, the Dok is allowed to disembark and assault the closest enemy.
Is this correct? It seems to me, upon reading the rules, that this is a misinterpretation. That the rules, in fact, clarify that:
A) Grotsnik can use a vehicle to get to his closest target, as long as no one else is in assault range and doing so would be the fastest way to get there.
Grotsnik makes the vehicle move as fast as possible so that he can disembark and assault as soon as possible. It doesn't say he gets to disembark in the same turn he embarked, and it doesn't say he gets to assault.
So, if he's standing next to a vehicle, he would spend movement phase getting on it, and the vehicle would move as fast as possible (probably 12"). The next turn, he would disembark (but not assault). The following turn, he would assault (or move and assault if the target was further away).
Which is the correct interpretation? Dok Grotsnik and embark, move as fast as possible, disembark, and assault? Or Dok Grotsnik can embark, move fast as possible... then disembark a turn later... then assault on the final turn?
The majority of Ork vehicles are open topped so he would be allowed to disembark and assault, unless he'd bought the 'ard case upgrade for that vehicle (which stops it being open topped). I see nothing in the FAQ entry that says he can disembark from a non-open-topped transport and assault.
However, embarking and disembarking during the same turn is a no-no, and I think your reading of the FAQ sounds spot on on that point - the key phrase being "as soon as possible". It's not possible for Grotsnik to disembark on the same turn he embarked (as the BBB does not permit it) and neither the codex entry of FAQ say that Grotsnik may embark and disembark in the same turn.
I have too many armies to list in my signature!
Ok, forgot about the open-topped rule (which he had). So, in this case, the Dok would have embarked on the vehicle and moved 12" toward the nearest target. On the following turn, he would have disembarked (or moved and disembarked, if needed) and then assaulted the target.
Second question in regard to these 12" moves in his Battlewagon. He can perform Tank Shocks with no consequence to his other actions, correct? Saying he had embarked the previous turn, this turn he would be able to move 12" into the unit, causing damage with Deff Rolla and a Morale check and then could disembark and assault. I couldn't find anything in the book that suggests a Tank Shock can't be used in a turn with embarking or disembarking passengers.
Last edited by XIII; July 29th, 2010 at 13:02.
Yes, he can tank shock with the BW and then disembark and assault provided he was already embarked in the transport at the beginning of the turn.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2